Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:40 p.m. - 2002-04-22
K�sespatzle and potstickers
"on and on i swam at the cusp of my ceasing. i swear the last pelagic thought propelled me there. docility i kept in fingers wrapped as weeds and when i wore my barest breath the tides were paired. elegiac and wired for sounds of seas and seeing i tore my skiff and choked upon your falling air. i spanned the shore to shore, unfastened my safety belt. my needy lungs heaved for a sinking we could share." --annika bentley "pedicellaria"

I was sitting in my class, "Neue Aspekte der Audiologie" when all of a sudden, this craving hit. I wanted--no--desired--potstickers from Hop Hing's. I think I'm on the wrong side of the Atlantic Ocean for that. So I sat through class, not paying attention to Herr Ried, but daydreaming about potstickers, picking them up with chopsticks and laughing at the instructions on the chopstick wrapper, written in broken English, dipping the potsticker in warm sauce...yum. (Other people daydream about people. I dream about food.)

I'm making myself hungry.

Add to the list that I made yesterday: Hop Hing's potstickers. heck, I'll drive an hour just to get them. That's how far this place is from where I live.

In non-food news (should I rename this journal, "Stacey's Epicuran Delights" or something like that? Perhaps I should. Seems like food is such a big part of my life, and yes, I have a superb metabolism.)

I got a letter from my former thesis/academic advisor at Wooster. it's scary how nice I felt after getting this note from him; considering that he was...well, less than nice during my senior year (that's putting it very mildly)...and he was not my favorite person when I graduated...(don't tell him that my favorite professor is my German professor, now teaching in Detroit, Michigan).

I dreamed about my pet fish last night. Or rather, I dreamed that I was at a swimming pool, and there were lots of black tetras swimming in the pool--gigantic black tetras--maybe about a foot and a half long or something, and I turned to the person next to me (maybe it was my dad?) and I said, "my fish are only (I hold my thumb and forefinger apart, about 1.5 inches apart) this big!" Then one of the giant black tetras tears the fins off another giant black tetra, and the fin-less tetra leaped out of the water onto the poolside...Strange dream.

Earlier, when I was at school craving potstickers, I was also in a gung-ho mood to clean my room. Now that I'm home, I really don't want to clean, but I probably will, anyway, so I can focus on studying my Hungarian conjugations and vocabulary. I am determined not to sound like Jacob from my German classes.

The other day, I found Epiphany's diaryland diary. Now after readingn his writings, I really wonder why I bother. What I write doesn't apprear as earth-shattering or interesting as my diary entries, unless you like to read about my food-cravings.

I'm hungry now. Maybe I'll make K�sespatzle for dinner in a little bit.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!