Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:21 p.m. - April 23, 2002
Abendessen
I'm crazy
Why do I keep doing this?
Everything is fine
Then you think I'm crazy
I do this all the time
Until I start to think that something's wrong
--Lisa Loeb "The Way it Really Is"

Well, maybe this song is not accurate, but it sure was running though my head during and after Hungarian class, and I couldn't seem to shake it out of my head (or that feeling that I'm thisclose to being insane, for attempting to learn a hard language.)

So I was talking to my classmate, Ursula, who is in my class and soaks up Hungarian with the greatest of ease. I said how I have no idea why I was even compelled to take Hungarian, and this is her theory: It was destiny, and I was Hungarian in a past life. Therefore, as I was reading through the course offerings for the semester, a little voice in the back of my head said, "hmm...Hungarian."

It's a good theory, even if I don't buy into the whole past life thing.

So now, I know that I'm not crazy. I just have an old soul--an ancient Hungarian soul--inside of me. Maybe.

On the upside, though, today was much easier. I think it helped that I read some Hungarian grammar last night and memorized a few things in the book. However, I still sound like Jacob.

Franz, who is an older man, maybe in his fifties, is a student in my Hungarian class. It was really bugging me that he looked so familiar, and last time I realized why he looked so familiar. He looks exactly like the dad on "Family Ties". That's sort of scary.

My allergies are starting to drive me crazy right now. I guess that's one sign of spring (although it's been spring for...a few months? now). But I was feeling stuffy and not so hot in English class, and all I could think about was getting home and cooking something warm and filling for dinner. So I raced home, bought myself some butter (oh miracle of miracles! a place was open at 7.45 PM!) and I went up to my floor.

The first thing I saw: the three RA type people for my floor. I don't make eye contact, and start heading for my room. Ute stopped me and asked if I was going to the hall meeting. I ask her when it is. And she answers, "now." I was like, okay, I'll be there. And I'm thinking that it would be a short meeting, since at college in US, my hall meetings were always short. No. It lasted one hour long and was so boring.

And I was just totally mad that they just did all of this at the last minute; nothing was posted anywhere about a hall meeting, and no one had come to me last week or even yesterday to say anything about a hall meeting. I find that really irresponsible and thoughtless. Plus, i was hungry--I didn't get back to my room till about 9.15 PM, and by then, it was too late to either cook Kļæ½sespatzle or egg and allo. i was so mad about this. I had a PB sandwich for dinner, but it definetely is not filling enough for me, and now it's almost 11 PM, and I really don't want to eat anything heavy now. Augh. I'm just really annoyed and the more I think about it, the madder I get...

So I am going to try and calm down and snack on something, if I can find anything I actually want to eat.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!