Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:59 p.m. - April 24, 2002
DayQuil and other happy things
I checked Beth's weblog (www.plattitudes.com) and she had this link to a quiz that she took.


Take the What High School

Stereotype Are You? quiz, by Angel.

This confirms it. I was a geek, am a geek and forever am a geek. I knew it. Somewhere, deep down within the deep recesses of my soul, I knew it. I mean, come on, anyone whose idea of fun is watching Star Trek: Voyager or Trading Spaces, while reading Star Trek: Voyager season 8 or 9...is a certifiable geek. Plus, I ... never mind.

I spoke with Emily today about Hungarian. She's taking Japanese (something which i took for all of three weeks in eighth grade!) and she said Hungarian is supposed to be the hardest language in the world. I told her that Finnish has 16--yes, 16! cases. And it took me forever to figure out the four cases in German! Well, I'm still learning when to use dative case and when to use accusative case.

Hungarian may not have prepositions, but it does have different conjugations to be used with different vowel sounds in the verb stem. It's irritating.

I know for a fact that there are other students on the same grant here--and they're taking it "easy" by taking only English classes. Even though I am taking an English class, I think I'm probably having more fun than they are, because I've got (a) something to bitch about, (b) I'm going to develop a smug smirk by the end of the year when I go home. "Oh yes, I speak German and English. And Hungarian and Italian, of course. I mean, who wouldn't want to learn Hungarian?" (c) Being able to speak and write Hungarian is akin to having my own secret language. Now I just need to learn some swear words in Hungarian. Somehow, I don't think Frau Keleman will teach us how to say dirty things in Hungarian, unlike my favorite German professor in US.

In other news, I think I'm coming down with a cold. Not fun. I mean, just two days ago, I was all fine and able to breathe. Now I feel like I'm going to sound like a goose (or maybe John Cage nose-whistling?) at any moment. That was gross.

Moving on. I finished my speech for the presentation I've to give in Stuttgart. It sucks. It's long and it's stupid, I think. But maybe someone will be impressed. At least I hope so.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!