Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:01 p.m. - May 06, 2002
Fresh, Pure Styling. New Fluid Movement.
I slept for nearly twelve hours last night. I feel much better. I mean, yesterday, I slept for five or six hours because I had been out (literally) all Saturday night at Die Lange Nacht die Musik (The long night of music, even though the title does not appear to be grammatically correct...)The program was one of those things you buy a 15 Euro ticket and you take trams and buses all over the city to see different musical programs, performances and whatnot at different theaters and clubs. It is scheduled to last approximately seven hours.

Anyway, I met up with Maggie and her friend and we all each picked a place where we wanted to go, so we went to belly-dancing (Maggie's friend's choice) followed by a Bollywood film festival (my choice) and some sort of dance music (hip-hop, soul, R&B, Maggie's choice). Belly dancing was fun, and the Bollywood film festival had me happy for hours, since the movie playing (Hum De Dil Chuke Sanamwas so beautiful (even if we had just seen the last half hour or so)...and I want my own copy on video or DVD. We also wanted to see a drag show, but we didn't have enough time to do that and go to the Bayerischer Hof, so we decided we'd just do the drag show another time, and just go to the Bayerischer Hof. I was soooo bored, since I wasn't in the mood for hip-hop (I don't like hip-hop that much, anyway).

So I left after a while and went on the Pianisten Tram, which is sort of cool--there's a tram with a piano inside, and a pianist plays music...very cool...by the time my trip ended, it was about 3.15 AM, and I decided to go to the S-Bahn station in Karlsplatz to catch a train to Marienplatz so I could get home. I thought about walking over to Marienplatz, but the thought of walking alone though the downtown at 3.15 AM really freaked me out, since it was so eerie because it was so quiet. So I just waited in the station for the train to come and take me away...Had to wait about half an hour. Then I made it to Marienplatz, thinking that the train would come at 4.11 AM. I was wrong. The trains begin running at 4.34 AM. So I waited, and in the meantime this guy kept staring at me and didn't blink. I shifted in my seat and he didn't blink. My skin crawled and he didn't blink. I got out of my seat and he didn't blink. I went to the train timetables to stare at the blankly and he got up out of his seat and started walking TOWARD me. Augh. So I went back to my seat and prayed that he'd go somewhere else. Someone heard my prayer, although he went to where I was standing and started at the timetables too. Yikes.

On the train, I was blissfully alone for the length of one stop. Then two drunk teenage boys who looked like they were 14 sat down in front of me. One fell asleep and the other started babbling to me and asking strange questions ("Do you know Barbara?" "How about frat boy?" (i think that's what he said, he was so drunk that his accent was thickened and slurred)). Then he found out that I was american, so he started babbling about Indiana, because his aunt lives there. It was very strange.

I made it back home at 5 AM and went to bed half an hour later. I was amused to see that my neighbor also arrived home at the same time I did, so we chatted for a bit. Peter's nice, but I think this is maybe the fourth time I've seen him all year. Isn't that sad?

Then I slept yesterday and read a bit, watched some TV, wrote a poem which I now don't like...

Today is Monday (I hate Mondays) and I am still tired but I feel better after twelve hours of sleep. However, I know that my brain was a bit off today when I was in the bathroom drying my hair, because I was reading the back of my L'Oreal spray gel bottle ("For an unstructured look: Spritz evenly on damp hair and fingerstyle hair into shape. Air dry or use a blow-dry diffuser"). Then I read the back of my other L'Oreal gel-fluid ("Anwendung in feuchtem oder trockenem Haar"). Then my brain cells spark and think, "Hey! That first gel bottle--was that in English?" So I check again, and sure enough, it's in English! Then I think to myself, wow! I got an English gel bottle in Germany! So I'm getting all amused, then I turn the bottle around and I see the little price sticker: "Marc's, $2.89".

Gee, I am so sharp.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!