Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:02 p.m. - May 23, 2002
Steam Heat
Today I woke up on the wrong side of the bed and couldn't shake myself out of my funk. I tried to study Hungarian, but I couldn't get into it. So I gave up and thought to myself, "Well, maybe I'll skip class today" and I felt better. Not a lot, but enough to feel somewhat relieved. Perhaps going to Hungarian has lost its charm? I don't know.

I will probably miss Hungarian next week (Tuesday--leaving for Milan, and Thursday is a holiday, but I'll be in Bodensee anyway). So who cares, really. It's bad of me, but really I can't seem to get the energy to go attack Hungarian lately--I've been feeling that way.

As far as travel--Kelly emailed me and said we might even have time to see Linderhof--so this is superb! I want to see Linderhof! There's also another castle--well, maybe we'll see three of them on Sunday. Wow. Looking forward to this weekend with Kelly--I think we both need this: I'm in need of a good friend (I've got friends here in Munich, but they're not the same as the friends I have back home, or even Kelly, Jenny, Stephan, Veronika, and Anna from my language course. There's something about LIVING with each other for at least a month -- or four years --that lets you see each other's bizarre quirks.)

And I want to talk to Kelly.

I want to talk to Karen as well. Well, I did some of that online, but it's not the same as talking in person. She's giving a speech in Milan (my selfish reason for going: see Karen). She's trying to convince me to see her in Italy, and I'm trying to keep my itchy fingers from typing, "I'll see you there!" and all the while, she's trying all sorts of ways to convince me to go (free haircut from her sister-in-law)--and I've been planning for a few weeks or so to go--and trying to keep it a surprise.

Sometimes I wonder if I should have just stayed home this weekend, though, and just watched movies all weekend, like "Monsoon Wedding." I'll wait till June, I guess--my month for relaxation and preparing to go home. I can't believe I have less than two months here. Although I'm looking forward to air conditioning.

The ultimate question, though, is whether I'll be too cold back home?

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!