Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:06 p.m. - June 10, 2002
Look! A recipe!
Well, so. I seem to have a non-existent class. I mean, I know they're THERE but I can never seem to find my classmates or professor anymore. What's up with that?

I went to the building, no one was there in the classroom. So I thought maybe they were on a field trip which was tentatively planned for this one place on Hohenzollerstrasse, so I walked and walked and didn't see the place the professor mentioned. So I gave up and decided to go home instead. But I didn't want to go home right away, so I went into little shops and boutiques that I didn't even know existed.

For instance, I found a place that was selling Andy Warhol shirts. Rather, shirts with the Andy Warhol silk screen prints (like the one of Chairman Mao, Jackie Kennedy Onassis, the soup cans). So I got really excited until I checked the price tag of the t-shirts. 145 Euros. That made my mind up pretty quickly. Shame. Ever since I saw a picture of ...I think it was Vivienne Tam....or Tan... wearing a dress with prints of the Andy Warhol Chairman Mao prints, I've wanted something wearable with Andy Warhol prints on them.

Well, I've got an Andy Warhol pocket calendar. I guess at 5 Euros, it's better than spending 145 on a t-shirt I'd be afraid to wear, simply because it costs over one hundred bucks. (Why would you even want a t-shirt that costs over 100 bucks? I mean, wouldn't you even be afraid to move? Or even have drinks or food items within a 30 meter radius of your t-shirt-wearing self?)

But I did spend 23 Euros on books at Joker's today. I found myself a German translation of Falling Up by Shel Silverstein (Rauf gefallen) and bought it because I want to see how the German translation does with Shel Silverstein; a book of DaDa poetry (I just about died of happiness here), Hoffmanns letzte Erz�hlung by Ronald Fricke, which is a mystery that uses E.T.A. Hoffmann as a character/center point in the story. (E.T.A. Hoffmann wrote The Nutcracker, which is now immortalized as a ballet and Christmas story); and finally, a copy of a book called Heinzelm�nnchen which I could not resist. You know Good Fairy, Bad Fairy or Lady Cottington's Pressed Fairy Book? Well it looks sort of like that, but it's about garden gnomes. And I found this in the arts and crafts section, which makes this all the funnier, because it's basically like the Good Fairy, Bad Fairy book, with the history of this garden gnome and it looks like a nature's guide to lawn gnomes or something (the gnome in the book looks a lot like that gnome on the old Nickelodeon cartoon), and his environment. It's really cute, and the little lawn gnome obsessed person in me just had to have this book.

Wanna know why? Ok. Go here. That's all thanks to Amelie (but the site I just pointed you toward is not Amelie related, though it is inspired by the movie.)

Last night I had a hard time sleeping because I panicked about how I was going haul my stuff home. So I had to get out of bed and pack some winter clothes and books in a box, which is now sitting under my desk/table/TV stand, waiting for me to mail it. Then I went back to bed, where I dreamed about something else I was worrying about: What the heck to do for my birthday? (For those of you wondering, my birthday is June 19th, and I wasn't sure what I wanted to do.)

My original plans were to either go to a ballet alone (I can't imagine asking Aaron or Maggie to sit through a ballet with me) or go to the Dreigro�chenkeller with some friends for their performance of the songs from The Threepenny Opera, which happens Monday through Thursday. Well, I wasn't sure if I wanted to go out at 10 PM on Wednesday night and stay till goodness-knows-how long, and then I and my friends have to get up early the next day. Well, my dream-persona came up with an excellent solution, if I do say so: bowling.

Now, I have no idea where a bowling alley is in Munich. Bowling, according to Isabelle, is not a popular sport here, because "Germans are really bad at it." Aww. Do you hear that? That's the sound of the smallest violin in the world...it weeps for the inability of Germans to bowl. Oh yeah. But I think a bowling party sounds like fun: I haven't had one since I was...in fourth grade, I think (my first BOY-GIRL party! gasp!)

I made homemade pizza today. Yum. Recipe follows, if you are interested. This I made up after eating Dr. Oetker's Intermezzo, Spinat-Sauerrahm Pizza (Spinach-Sour Cream pizza). So don't tell me this is gross. Other people (an entire company!) makes this.

Pizza dough (just look it up somewhere online or in a recipe book, if you want to make the dough from scratch). Prepare pizza dough as directed. Press into pan or whatever you use to bake pizza, like a baking stone.

Sauce (like most of my recipes, no measurements are given. You experiment till you find the flavor you like.)

*Sour cream
*Heavy cream
*Basil
*Oregano
*Garlic (fresh, pressed garlic is best)

In a bowl, mix sour cream, a bit of heavy cream, and as much basil, oregano, and garlic as you like. Best if sauce is made an hour or so before baking--prepare while pizza dough is rising.

Spread sour cream sauce over pizza dough. Top with spinach (and if you like, some fresh tomatoes and olives) and mozzerella cheese.

Bake at the recommended temperature that your pizza dough recipe orders you to. Eat.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!