Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:39 p.m. - June 12, 2002
Rose coloured-glasses
So for the last week, I was having nightmares about having coke-bottle glasses. See, what happened was that I caved into the chic aspect of Munich and bought myself a pair of funky glasses. I spent 320 Euros, and got the thicker lenses because frankly, I can't afford to buy a pair of expensive frames and then pay 119 Euros for super-thin lenses. But the salesguy warned me taht the lens would be thick with the cheaper ones, and I guess he made it sound like I'd have really thick glasses.

They're perfectly fine. They do not stick out of the frames of anything. I look like one cool chick. They are those retro-artsy frames, the really thick ones. They're red, the back is green, and there's a layer of white in between, so from the side, it's like looking at the Italian flag.

I feel all cool now. Like, you know, one of those cool chicks who live in SoHo or something, with a paintbrush permanently welded to their hand, and the aloof attitude of "I'm so cool. Who are you? Have we met before?" although maybe not to THAT extent.

I'm watching Golden Girls right now, and it looks like Dorothy is having the worst birthday of her life: Rose and Blanche took her to a kiddie place and Rose, of course, is thrilled--there's a clown and Dorothy is humiliated by having to go up on stage, wear a hat, and the kids (and the clown) clap and sing. I think that beats my Chi-Chi's experience when I was forced to stand on a chair, wear a sombero, and dance. How humiliating. My friend has a picture.

(By the way, Estelle Getty, who plays Sophia, is a gorgeous redhead. The actress is also younger than the person who plays Blanche, by the way.)

I will not let my 23rd birthday be this way. Sadly, some of the people I invited will be out of town, so we'll see what will happen.

On the subway today: a baby in a stroller--perhaps one year old--has a Po (I think it's Po--the red Teletubbie) and he looks at me, grins, and holds his doll up, and in that little baby-voice of his, he goes, "baby!" His mother does not react. She talks to another woman (I assume her sister), even though she appears to be aware of her son's behaviors. I am surprised. As a speech-pathology and audiology major, I've learned that kids should be rewarded by having parents expand their sentences--I was tempted to go into speech therapy mode and say, "Ja, genau! Du hast ein rotes Baby!" But that would be interfering.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!