Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:13 p.m. - June 15, 2002
The joys of TV
:::sigh:::

I'm such a sucker for movies like this. Only You was just on, and by golly, I had the silliest grin on my face and the happiest feeling after Faith and Peter shared their final, happy kiss and the plane flew off into the sunset. It doesn't matter how many times I've seen movies like this, whether they be While You Were Sleeping, You've Got Mail, An Affair to Remember...even My Fair Lady and Roman Holiday I could go on and on about the various movies that lose all the cynicism, all the baggage from the times.

Just forget everything but the innocence and happiness. I sound like a fool, but at least I'm a happy one. I think. Even if I don't have a love relationship to even mention or anything. Heck. I'll just live vicariously through fictional characters who live in a world where love is perfect and gosh, such melodramatic onces at that. It's nice to escape into a fantasy world inhabited by perfect people (as long as they're not snobs about their perfection), especially if they are filmed in romantic places like Italy. Or at least really picturesque cities. (This is another reason to fall in love with Bollywood films).

Now do I cap this evening off by watching Johnny Mnemonic or Tolle Lage? I can't imagine that either of the two movies would continue the happy joy of a good romantic comedy, but... I wanted to watch Exit to Eden, but RTLII seems to have disappeared from my TV channel lineup (don't worry, this has happened before with EuroSport and a French channel. Still no Kabel 1, sadly, which is the channel that gets Star Trek: Enterprise.)

In any case, I think I will probably lose that feeling of exhiliration from watching a guilessly happy movie. I suppose Johnny Mnemonic ends happily, but I don't know. The idea of people toting big guns, killing people and swishing around this whip thing that puts Wonder Woman's magic lariat to shame doesn't seem entirely joyful.

I did notice, though, that there are a ton of asians in this flick. I wonder if they'll even by remotely 3-D characters? The poor guy who got his fingers sliced off at the beginning seemed somewhat interesting, though. But he didn't have much brains. I mean, why would you try to burn incriminating evidence when the bad guy's still in the room? And he has the swishy cutting rope thingy, or whatever that weapon of choice is? It looks like something that would be used to cut clay in a potter's workshop or to cut a cake in half so you can put the filling inside. Only it glows or something. Hello. I think I'd just hide till the bad guys left. But then it could also be that I'm just one big chicken.

Note: One month from today, I'll be on a plane back to USA. Good gad, this is getting close. Scariness ensues. I have to figure out how to unregister from the school, from the city, close my bank account, figure out how to get my room inspected, turn in my key, figure out what I want to sell/give away/toss, mail things home, take care of all the bureaucratic things...and of course, return things to my host family, which means I'll have to see them again. And that also means I'll probably have to live with them for a few days before I go back home. Unhappiness ensues with the latter duty that I must complete. Guess I made a mistake of even having a host family in the first place, even if it was just for one month. I guess that was just one instance when I should have listened to my mom, instead of being the stubborn fool I am.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!