Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:50 p.m. - June 17, 2002
Hair-raising adventures
We shared humidity, and orange roses,
and poking fun at all our friends.
They can have their barbecues, and we have our arguments;
we never can agree.
-Lisa Loeb, Bring Me Up

This describes my hair perfectly.

Humidity and my hair do not go together happily. I'll be there in my bathroom, standing there in front of my mirror, armed with blowdryer, hairspray, hair gel, mousse, hairbrush. I'll brush my hair into shape. Then one side falls down after fooling me into thinking that maybe once, in 30 degree (Celsius) weather, that it will actually do something nice for once.

No. The past four days or so, I've hairsprayed my head into oblivion, I could support L'Oreal by buying out their entire stock in a week for my hair, but none of that would work. So I've got a ponytail and bobby pins stuck in my hair. It's a most unflattering hairstyle for me, by the way.

I'm sad that on June 19, it will be about 30 degrees (Celsius) and just as humid, probably. It's supposed to be my birthday--it couldn't by 76 degrees (Farenheit) and rainy?

Yes, I am weird.

Further proof of my weirdness: I found out today that Taylor Hanson (the middle Hanson brother) got married to his, and I quote, "long-time sweetheart." His long-time sweetheart has been dating him for two years. To me, two teenagers dating for two years is not a "long-time" relationship. I have a friend, whose brother dated his high school sweetheart for ten years before getting married. My classmate, Denise, dated Jeremy for about seven years before they got married last year. Markus and Isabelle have been dating for five years. (Markus is now 21 years old and Isabelle is 20.) To me, those are long-time sweethearts.

Anyway, that's not my point. The point is that this weekend, I was listening to Hanson's This Time Around and was looking at the CD cover of the three brothers and thought to myself, "Hmm, I wonder what would happen if one of them got married?" At first I thought of Ike, but then my brain turned to Taylor, who I think is the most popular one in the group because he's (and I'm probably quoting Teen Bop or some similar "magazine" here) the "cutest" of the trio. So I was thinking of devastated females who have no more reason to hold up glittery posterboards with markered letters saying, "PLEASE MARRY ME, TAYLOR!" (I don't know, do they do that? Probably.)

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!