Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:08 p.m. - June 24, 2002
'Cause I'm a geeky bookworm
Did you miss my last entry about Hearts in Atlantis? Go back one entry. And because I don't want to go to bed yet, I'm going to go ahead and bore you to death by listing the books I have on my shelves here in my dorm room, just so you can laugh at me. They are pretty strange, some of them.

1. The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett (only my most favorite book in the entire world)

2. Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone by J.K. Rowling (this is the British version. After the movie came out, I had a hankering to re-read this book, but my copy was at home).

3. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling (see comment for #2.)

4. House of Many Shadows by Barbara Michaels (This is a good one.) 5. Be Buried in the Rain by Barbara Michaels (Boring as heck. I love BM but this book really sucks. It's so predictable and isn't atmospheric enough to even be a modern gothic novel.)

6. Vanish with the Rose by Barbara Michaels (REALLY good.)

7. Stitches in Time by Barbara Michaels (One of my favorites. Also part of a trilogy, which begins with Ammie, Come Home, followed by Shattered Silk, both of which are really good. I didn't bring the other two with me, since Stitches in Time is my favorite, cause the male lead in the book, well, umm...I've got a little crush on him, but that's not the only reason. The book is really good with fascinating characters and a good, solid plot and atmosphere.)

8. Tough Cookie by Diane Mott Davidson (Yum.)

9. Dying for Chocolate by Diane Mott Davidson (also some yummy chocolate food recipes in these. Can you guess it's also one of my favorite genres: culinary mysteries?)

10. The Main Corpse by Diane Mott Davidson (more food. More appetizing than a corpse.)

11. The Last Suppers by Diane Mott Davidson (more recipes to drool over.)

12. Prime Cut, also another culinary mystery written by Diane Mott Davidson

13. Widow's Club by Dorothy Cannell (yet another mystery. Involves food but has no recipes. It's very British, which means that the first time you read it, you're like, "huh?" then you reread it and you snicker at all the sly jokes and witty remarks.)

14. All That Remains by Patricia Cornwell (I felt shortchanged when I read this mystery. One of the joys of reading a mystery is that you have the potential to solve it. Well, I couldn't have solved this on my own, 'cause I would need to be a forensic expert to solve it.)

15. See Jane Run by Joy Fielding. (Bought this at a used book rummage before going off on a 5 hour long train ride. I finished the book on the train. It's okay. Not bad, not great.

16. So You Want to Be a Wizard by Diane Duane (the first in the Young Wizards series. Kids books, but I love 'em)

17. Deep Wizardry by Diane Duane (Really quite good. But I had to read this several times to really appreciate it and the parable within)

18. High Wizardry by Diane Duane (this is good. I read it too quickly the first time, so i confused myself with the technobabble in this book and had to reread it several times. One can read this as an allegory. The following books in the series are: A Wizard Abroad which I think sucks because I hated Ronan, and The Wizard's Dilemma which i haven't read yet.)

19. The Unknown Five edited by D.R. Benson (I bought this book at the used book rummage sale based solely on appearance. It's got this woman with this really huge chest, blonde hair, and some monster with tentacles holding her. I imagine the woman is screaming. It's a collection of five stories, one of which is written by Isaac Asimov.)

20. Spartan Planet by A. Bertram Chandler (Bought this at the rummage, too, based on the tagline: "A planet inhabited only by men--invaded by the creature called woman", and it was written in 1969. I doubt you can even find this anywhere anymore, so I consider myself very lucky to have such a tawdry "novel")

21. The Pickwick Papers by Charles Dickens (Someone gave this to me. I've only read about 50 pages.)

22. e.e. cummings selected poems 1923-1958 (also from the rummage sale. cost me about 1.50. And e.e. cummings is one of my favorite poets.)

23. The Bird Yard by J. Wallis Martin (bought at a clearance sale in Regensburg. It sucks.)

24. Probe by Carole Nelson-Douglas (Bought at a dollar store when I went home for Christmas, because I was getting sick of reading all the same stuff all over again, and I love Carole Nelson-Douglas--she's a great mystery writer. However, Probe is a science-fantasy novel, and it is rather good.)

25. Homebody by Orson Scott Card (Yet another rummage sale acquisition. It's quite good but reminds me of that movie, The Haunting with the scary house.

26. Becoming Human by Ian Tattersall (bought at a Borders Outlet for $2.99 to read on the plane from Cleveland-Germany after Christmas was over. It's really fascinating, though I can't agree with the anthropological arguments about evolution Tattersall makes.)

27. The Innkeeper's Song by Peter Beagle (This book made me blue by the end. Not exactly light reading. One has to pay close attention to detail and point-of-view changes. Which meant that after I got through half of the book, I had to start over again and read very carefully. If you want to read some Beagle, I recommend The Last Unicorn or Tamsin.)

28. Changing Places by David Lodge (bought for the English class I dropped. I don't know what it's about.)

29. The History Man by Malcom Bradbury (I couldn't finish this book. Hate it so much. It was for the English class I dropped. This is probably the third book in my life I've never finished. The others were The Prince and the Pauper by Mark Twain and Eva by I-forget-who-but-it-bored-me-to-death.)

30. Lucky Jim by Kingsley Amis. (Also bought for the aforemented English class. I don't get it. Not sure if I'll try to reread it.)

31. Small World by David Lodge (also for the dropped English class. Don't know what it's about.)

32. Der Campus by Dietrich Schwanitz (also for that English class. I think I know what it's about, cause they made this into a TV movie, so I saw parts of it.)

33. Hearts in Atlantis by Stephen King (My friend's sister made me take it. Read previous entry for comments about book.)

34. Into the Mummy's Tomb edited by John Richard Stephens (gift from a friend that came in the mail. Really good collection of stories and journal entries, as well as legends and myths, about things like mummies. Worth a read.)

35. The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins (The very FIRST mystery novel to be written in the English language. It's really enjoyable.)

36. The Woven Path by Robin Jarvis (bought at the rummage sale. Weird book. Must read rest of trilogy.)

37. I Sing the Body Electric by Ray Bradbury (awesome. this was also a gift from my friend, who sent me #34.)

38. 1920's Agatha Christie: Volume 2 (picked up at a hostel in Switzerland for about 50 cents. Great book.)

39. The Sandman: Book of Dreams edited by Neil Gaiman (Bought this at Hugendubel before going to Berlin/Potsdam in March. I didn't realize that the Sandman was an actual book series by Gaiman, not the mythological character. Whoops. Dark fantasy. Some really creepy stories.)

40. Number One Sunset Boulevard by Teddi Sanford and Nickie Silverstein (cost me about a buck at the rummage sale. Curious about what it was, because it didn't look like a romance novel, and thank goodness, it's not. But I think this is a weird book. Might be better off reading Valley of the Dolls or something, I guess.)

41. The Best of Roald Dahl (bought this on the return trip from Hannover, since I finished See Jane Run on the way there. Since I had about 3 seconds to buy a book before running off to the train, I did an okay job. It was one of the cheapest and had really small print.)

42. Establishment of Innocence by Harvey Aronson and Mike McGrady (bought solely because of the cover and tagline. First, the cover: front cover, there is only a rendering of a butcher's chopper dripping bright red blood? No name, no title. Just the chopper. On the back, it says in red letters: "An unthikably brutal and bloody murder has been committed. The killer remains at large and unsought." Underneath the title, which is in the middle of the back in black letters: "A novel that will disturb your sleep" Need I also mention that the entire book cover is shiny silver? Like tinfoil? I've not read this yet. I'm saving this for the return trip home, tee-hee.)

42. Death Dines at 8:30 edited by Claudia Bishop and Nick DiChario (I love anthologies, particularly ones where there is a thematic concept -- this time, a murder occurs around 8:30, and there must be food involved in some way. And recipes accompany each and every one of the stories.)

43. The Floating Girl by Sujata Massey (interesting. Takes place in Japan, with a Japanese-American protagonist. Manga is involved.)

44. Pebble in the Sky by Isaac Asimov (bought at the rummage sale because I'd never heard of it before. It was good. That's all I remember about it.)

45. Mammon, Inc. by Hwee Hwee Tan (this book is a good allegory. It also touched upon my feelings about being Asian in a mainly white country, the feeling of sometimes not being one thing or another.)

46. The Maiden by koff koff Jude Devereaux (Hmm. Picked this up in a hostel for about 50 cents. Because I wanted to read something trashy.)

47. I'll Be Wearing a White Carnation by Judi Miller (one of those trashy mystery-thrillers written in the 70's. It's worth it just for the first three pages, which had me howling with laughter. Bought at the used book rummage, if you didn't guess that already.)

48. Armadale by Wilkie Collins (saving this for the trip home. I'm sure to finish Establishment of Innocence even before we finish crossing the Atlantic. And Collins always takes me a long time to read for some reason, so I'll be occupied for quite some time.)

49. The Ghost of Canterville by Oscar Wilde (one of those cheap Reclam books that cost about 2 Euro and fit nicely in pockets.)

50. The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde (yet another cheap 2 Euro Reclam book that I'd stuff in my coat pocket to read on the subway.)

51. Let's Go! Germany 2001 (Duh.)

52. Living and Working in Germany by Nick Daws (gift from someone before I left for Germany. It has been useful SOOOO many times.)

53. Rick Steve's Germany, Austria, and Switzerland 2000 (pretty self-explanatory there...)

54. Insight Pocket Bavaria (Maybe I shouldn't have bought this one. This has been the least useful travel guide all year.)

55. Frommer's Munich and the Bavarian Alps 3rd Edition (Very good guide.)

56. Fodor's 2000 Europe (hand me down from former student. Somewhat useful. But I'd recommend Let's Go!, Frommer's or even Lonely Planet.)

57. Das gro�e Buch der Heinzelm�nnchen

58. Der Strummwelpeter by Dr. Heinrich Hoffmann

59. Ein M�nchner im Himmel by Ludwig Thoma (One of the most famous stories in Bavaria.)

60. Wer Hat Dornroschen wachgeku�t?

61. Ludwig Thoma: Seine Sch�nste Geschicte

62. Janosch Erz�hlt Grimms M�rchen

63. Das Ohrenbuch

64. Mord und Totschlag, Gift und Galle (obtained for free on the first day of classes--the library was giving away books for free. Not sure I want this one though. It is pretty explicitly horrifying. I felt all gross when I read some of it.)

65. Die Legende vom Golem (my souvenir from Prague. They had this book only in Czech and German, no English.)

66. Seife und Dufte (yep, you read that right: Soap and Perfumes. It is a craft book.)

67. Generations in Conflict (taken from Deutsche Bank.)

68. Langweilige Postkarten

69. blaue gedichte

70. Max und Moritz in neun Dialekten by Wilhelm Busch

71. Sprachclownerien und Grotesken by Karl Valentin

72. Die Verwandlung by Franz Kafka

73. Norbert Nackendick by Michael Ende

74. M�rchen von Ludwig Bechstein

75. Das Parfum by Patrick S�skind

76. Der eifersuchtige Friseur by Lars Saabye Christensen

77. Der Spiegel im Spiegel by Michael Ende

78. Vier, F�nf, Sechs by Pieke Biermann

79. Iguana by Anna Maria Ortese

80. Beethoven Briefe

81. Die Geschichte meines Lebens by Helen Keller

82. Frauenromane by Theodor Fontane

83. Heidi by Johanna Spyri

84. Hoffmanns letzte Erz�hlung by Ronald Fricke

85. Raufgefallen by Shel Silverstein (note: They COLORIZED the cover!! How could they??!!)

86. Weiss, Blau und Heiter

87....oh just forget the textbooks and dictionaries. I've got three textbooks about hearing loss in English, two in German, one book about college students with hearing loss (in english), two german dictionaries and one english dictionary.

Now I think I am a major geek. I have too many books. I didn't realize I had that many. I got up to around 20 books and I was like, oh man...I really have a ton of them. I must have brought only ten fiction books and the travel guides with me at the beginning of the year. Darn that book rummage sale. There are more in boxes I've packed up to mail home (German books). I'm leaving most of the English books behind: giving them to friends who I think will enjoy them.) I promise, I will not list my CDs. Even I think that's just boring. Plus I'd go crazy if I had to list my entire collection of CDs.

Oh I've to sleep now. It's nearly 1 AM. Class tomorrow.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!