Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:57 a.m. - July 05, 2002
Friday Five and preparing to flee
It's that time of the week again...yep, it's the Friday Five.

1. Where are you right now? In my jammies, in front of my computer of course. I'm in Munich, but you probably knew that already. This time I've got piles of stuff around me, ready for packing.

2. What have you lost recently? My mind? I don't know what I've lost recently. Probably misplaced some papers that are not (at the moment) so important.

3. What was the first CD you ever purchased? Does that embarrass you now? I think it was Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers...Wildflowers. I'm not embarassed about it, because I still listen to it and Tom Petty is a great musician, anyway. By the way, I didn't listen to popular music till I was in high school.

4. What is your favorite kind of writing pen? All pens, but my favorites are black and purple colored. I like fine tip pens, gel pens...

5. What is your favorite ice cream flavor? Chocolate or mint chocolate chip.

Well, that was a fun Friday Five. Easy on the brain, eh?

And yesterday I went to that dinner with the host families. Only one of the other students who participated in the program showed up, and so I was the only one for a long time because Emily has to work. But one of the others has been in the US for a while now, because her dad was dying of cancer, so she gave up the Fulbright. Her host dad told me last night that he died. That's really sad. I wasn't close to her, but I feel bad for her because she spent most of her year being abroad while her dad was really ill.

As far as my host family. I think it's still sort of awkward between us because we were not a good match. We tried, but it just didn't fit. But I don't have to stay with them before I leave, yessss! But I do have to figure out how to turn my key back in--I might just ask Emily to turn it in for me and stuff, but I've to ask the dorm people about that. I mean, my flight leaves at 7 AM, which means I need to leave the dorm by 5 AM. I doubt the office will be open then. I'll talk to them on Monday, I think.

I still can't believe that I'm leaving so soon. Yesterday I was living in this bubble of incomprehension, not thinking one thing or another, knowing that July 15 is fast coming, but was sort of numb to that fact. Now I feel like it's fast approaching and that I've just so much to do and pack and give away...but I want to get all the packing and cleaning over with, so there's no panicking (or rather, less panicking) in my last days of being in this city.

Before, I was feeling like, "Oh my gosh...I'm not done seeing the museums here!" and now I'm like, "Oh man. How did I get so much junk? Gosh." I hate packing.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!