Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:21 p.m. - July 10, 2002
Counting
Count with me: Four more boxes/tubes to mail home. One box of notes and books; some related to my research project, some not. Some jackets. One tube of posters and paintings I did, and one box of breakable things (like those wine glasses I got for my friend's wedding, and some small breakable souvenirs for people, like my professor/advisor from college. That sort of thing.) I'm bound to forget about people, so I bought four tiny, cute plates with Munich decorations on it. I figured that should be enough, and I have to buy some chocolate on Saturday to bring on my backpack.

Count with me: five days till I'm leavin' on a jetplane.

I bought a new CD today--Band Ohne Namen (in English, it means: Band without a name). One song, well, the lyrics are annoying. Here they are, from a song called "girl 4 a day".

Ich hab so viele Fragen, die ich mich nicht wage zu fragen und die mich trotzdem plagen an manchen Tagen, ich muss sagen, wenn ich ein Tag nur ein M�dchen w�r, dann w�rd ich ein f�r allermal die Fragen kl�re, zB Kann man wirklich auf High-Heels ok stehen? Muss man wirklich auf Klo immer zu zweit gehen, Zwei Stunden am Tag vorm Stunden vorm Spiegel stehen. Und wieso kommen alle M�dels immer zu sp�t?

(translation: I have so many questions, which I have never been moved to ask; despite that, these questions plague me some days. I must say, if I were a girl only for one day, then I will be able to answer all these questions. For instance, can one really stand in high heels? Must one really really go to the bathroom so often, stand in front of the mirror for two hours a day. And why are girls always so late?)

Okay. I had to calm myself down a bit. I was like. Dang, I'm not like that. I hate high heels (I don't own any), preferring flat soled shoes, mary janes, tennis shoes, and loafers. I hate being late for anything, and often, I'm early. Sometimes the first person anywhere. This is the first year I've been late for things, but that's because it took me a while to figure out what time I would need to be on the subway. I'm a low-maintainance girl, so I probably spend less than ten minutes in front of the mirror a day.

Here's another line that ticked me off: "Und wenn sie nein sagt meint sie ja and wenn sie ja sagt meint sie nein?" (And if she says no, does she mean yes, and if she says yes, does she mean no?") Dude. You don't have to be a girl to figure this one out. Just listen to her and don't press the issue!

The rest of the album is good, though. I like the music, and it's an interesting combination of German and English. I just have a hard time getting over this song.

At first I was going to mail a box this afternoon, and then it rained and thundered out there. Since I've been up early every morning as of late, I guess I'll make several trips to the post office tomorrow. Friday's the last day, and it's going to be just that fragile box and postcards, and I may mail home some journals in envelopes, since I haven't many left. My room is starting to be really bare, but it still looks like my space.

I've to start working on several things I've to take care of before I leave. I'm tired of this moving out business. And that whole scholarship up-in-the-airness thing.

From 20 October 2001:

"There was even a Milzbrand scare on Monday in M�nchen. Harthof Station. Someone left an envelope with baking powder on the train, so the trains were evacuated and didn't run for about 8 hours because they had to check and see if it was anthrax."

I didn't write much more about that scare--but here is what happened. I was going back to my host family's from university, and I was tired and was taking the U2 to Feldmoching. But the train dumped everyone off at Frankfurter Ring, and no one could get any further than that. I didn't really understand what was going on, because the people driving the trains were just saying, "Bitte Hier Aussteigen" and no explanations were given. Well, it took me two hours to get home, because I took a train all the way to Marienplatz, then took an S-Bahn to Feldmoching. Augh. I cut out a newspaper article about the Milzbrand (anthrax) scare in Munich.

And now a quiz.



what's your inner flower?

[c] s u g a r d e w

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!