Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:10 p.m. - July 23, 2002
Boring storytelling time
It's like Boring Storytelling around here. My mom's friend is now visiting, which accounts for my three (three!) day absence from diaryland...because the last few days, I was trying to clean, unpack, and make round pegs fit through square holes...

I hate cleaning, you know. (One of my famed comments, directed to my friend, who was lying in the hallway in front of my room, in the throes of thesis struggles:
Me: Are you dead?
Jeannette: Yes.
Me: Well, don't decompose there. I hate to clean.)

But what I also hate is boring storytelling, where Julie (my mom's friend) tells all these boring stories about their moves and houses, and my dad and Jimmy talk about business. The worst part is when Mom and Julie talk, it sounds like, "So Jimmy and I hehtanyhe to Calgary, and mongyitnbhghakrehgtgdt. So we andouoisfhkdhtiyr." And my mom does the same too: Half of everything she says is in Chinese. So I stare blankly at them. My eyes glaze over.

Tonight, driving home from dinner was torture because I wanted to go to the bathroom really bad, and I only live five minutes away from the restaurant. But my dad was driving, and he was driving exactly the speed limit, no five miles over. I thought I was going to explode. And I couldn't exactly scream, "But Dad, I've gotta go to the bathroom now!

Well, I suppose I could try and throw some Boarisch (Bavarian) at them if the need comes up...and at dinner, someone called Jimmy's cell phone and invited all of us to their house tomorrow for a barbecue. Augh. More boring storytelling?

Perhaps.

But maybe this is boring storytelling, anyway. But I guess it's okay. It's all part of the experience.

I also worked today. (Big deal). But it was raining really hard before I got there, and I decided to make a run for it, since I was already late because I was driving really slow to the store, because of the rain, which made everything hard to see. my whole front was wet, and as soon as I went to the back room to put away my purse, the skies cleared up. Go figure.

Ooh! I bought two pairs of cute shoes at Payless! One is black, which I needed for work because I threw out my black shoes before coming home, and the other is this cute red pair. I'm in awe. I saw similar shoes in Germany for like, 50 Euros, and I saw it here for $12.99. They're red, almost Mary Jane types (my favorite types...) I'm pleased as punch.

Anyway. I am debating whether I should go upstairs to subject myself to Boring Storytelling, or whether I should hide out here and watch Lagaan. Speaking of which, I saw Best in Show, which is absolutely hilarious. And also Damn Yankees, which reminds me of my beloved baseball team, the Cleveland Indians. It also reminds me of something my brother told me.

He said he was at a rehearsal for his school musical earlier this year, and the school principal told the janitors to paint the dressing room/green room/makeup room in the back. The walls in the back were plastered with posters from the junior and senior class plays and school musicals, starting back in the 70's or 80's. All of those posters have been signed by the cast and crew, and have been there forever.

Anyhow, is it obvious that we have lazy janitors at my high school? Anyway, the janitors painted over the posters! No one was able to save them or stop the painting. The teacher in charge of the musical this year tried to stop them, but they said, "This is Ms. Finley's jurisdiction." and they shoved her out of the room and locked the door. Painted it all red.

And the choreographer for this year's musical was the lead in Grease in the 80's, so when he saw the janitors painting over his name, he started yelling and swearing (but forgot to turn off the personal microphone he was wearing, so it all got broadcasted over the auditorium.)

Let's just say there's a lot of horrified, angry parents and students (and graduates, like the choreographer and me...) I mean, I wasn't in the cast (unless you count my walk-ons and piano stuff)...but that was a great time, those plays I was in...those were great times, memories. I remember backstage stuff, people having fun, stage fright, the feeling of accomplishment at making it all come together...and I know that if we tried to get the entire cast and crew of those plays together to sign those papers, it wouldn't be the same, you know?

So that's the end of my boring storytelling. For today.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!