Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:00 p.m. - July 29, 2002
Back from hiatus.
Whoa.

I haven't written for six days. But I do have an excuse. Work is one. My brother's monopolization of the computer is another. The other was this "spontaneous" family vacation...

Basically, I found out that I was going on a three day vacation from my co-worker. ("So, Stacey, where are you going on vacation?". I answered..."Uhh. I have no idea.") I screamed internally. If there's something I hate, it's actually family vacations, and I never was able to put my finger on it till this past weekend. At least I know why I am anal rententive when it comes to vacation planning.

See, my parents are the worst trip planners on the planet. I mean, we never know where the heck we're going, nor do we even know exactly what we want to do when we reach our destination. They take that "hey, let's see what we end up doing" attitude to a new level, because they spend about one-third of the time being lost somewhere and arguing about where the heck we are, the hotel, etc. My brother hates it too. ("Mom gets mad all the time." Which is true, now that I think about it.)

Anyway we went up to Toronto (originally Niagara Falls was to be in the equation). But just Toronto, which I think is a lot nicer than Niagara Falls, which is seeped in tourist-trapishness. So we drive to Toronto on Friday after work, and since it was late, we stayed over in Buffalo, NY before heading out the next day. we ended up at this scary diveish type hotel with a bowling alley in it, dirty sheets, gross bathrooms. I felt so gross. See, that's one of the things I hate about traveling with my parents. They never seem to make hotel reservations; rather, they just drive till they see a hotel that isn't a motel, and they check in. I'm sorry. I get heebie-jeebies from dirty looking places, particularly if I have to sleep in beds that look somewhat sketchy. And take a shower in a tub made out of plastic that sags under my weight.

Next day, we (thankfully) checked out and drove up to Toronto. My parents spent a lot of time being lost, looking for this dumb hotel. Long story short, they cancelled that reservation and got another one at a Holiday Inn Express in Scarborough because it's closer to the city. I have a friend who lives in Toronto (Woodbridge) so we called her and got together with her and her family and a friend for dinner. That was nice. The Holiday Inn Express was great. It was nice and clean (yay! for a clean bathroom and bed!)

Now I'm home and I forgot what else I was going to type in here, because my dad came down here and started asking me questions.

I registered for my classes today. I start August 28. I'm taking three lecture classes and a practicum (Research Methods, Advanced Clinical something, Amplification, and Advanced clinical practicum. I can't believe I'll be in school in a month. This sort of scares me.

Currently reading: Lord of the Silent by Elizabeth Peters. I read Golems of Gotham over the weekend, and bought myself a copy of Nick Bantock's The Museum at Purgatory in Canada, since I can't find it here anyway.

If I remember what I was going to write, I will. But don't count on it. I've got a memory like a leaky sieve.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!