Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:46 p.m. - July 31, 2002
Catching up
I forgot to add one more reason for not updating as diligently as before...

My brother is a computer geek.

That is, he does all sorts of crazy things to our computer, crashes it several times because he tries to add things to it (sometimes successfully and sometimes not). So sometimes, our computer is just a large paperweight.

Anyhow, I've still been working.

On the news several days ago, CNN showed a clip of two frogs in India getting married. Yes, that's for real. My parents saw it too, and it was hilarious. If India gets rain, maybe I'll have to get some frogs and have an amphibian wedding, too...

Last night, some guy--I think he was either Russian or Eastern European, with a thick accent and so-so English, came in to buy a retirement card. As he paid for his card, he said something like he wanted a "present bag." Loretta and I were a little puzzled at first, but then I figured out he wanted a gift bag, so Loretta took him to the section with the gift bags...and he asked her if gift bags came with the cards (I don't think so...)

Another disadvantage of less computer time is the fact that I've got a pile of emails going all the way back to July 10, which I have not yet responded to...

And I find that lately, I feel like Germany was a dream. Was I really there? It seems like I've settled into my life easily and comfortably, no problems, until something jars me out of my comfort level (Who needs that much baking powder, anyway? Why do we have to pay sales tax? How much do I tip the waitress? And why is this strange person being nice to me?) I wonder if my fellow expatriates from the program feel the same way...I ought to write them emails and see how they are adjusting...

Speaking of which: I need to answer emails from July 10th.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!