Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:14 a.m. - August 07, 2002
Just things

Okay, so that was a rather pointless quiz, but I just had to see.

Today, I found out that my pediatrician...well, rather, the family practicioner that I saw during my childhood and early adolescence...is in a nursing home. He apparently had a stroke. I feel badly about that. I mean, he wasn't always my favorite person (well, if he gives you tetanus shots...) but...still. He was a nice guy, even if he gave me shots.

I picked up my new earmold today and so far, it seems to be working. I also went on some crazy huge shopping trip, buying birthday presents, wedding gifts, and so forth. Then I came home and ordered this cute t-shirt online. Ignore the blue haired girl. The t-shirt rocks, don't you think? It sort of amuses me that I'm buying something from what is obviously a punkish type store.

And oh, I forgot to mention that I had to ring up this rude lady...she'd give Maxine a run for her money.

Anyway, this customer was an older lady, and I'm smiling, of course I am. I'm a good salesperson. It's what I do.

And she grouches at me, "I have a Hallmark card" so I said, "Okay." She hands me her card and I ring up her purchases. I tell her the total.

In this really snotty, gravelly voice, she said, "That's with my discount!?" I apologize and said, "Oh, I'm sorry!" and I ring up her discount.

She continues, "That's what I said. I said I am a senior citizen!"

I apologized once again, and I said in the nicest voice I could, "Well, I'm sorry. I didn't hear you. I'm hearing impaired."

Well, apparently, that wasn't good enough for her, because in an annoyed huff of breath, she went, "Hmrph!"

I'm thinking a nice thing to do is kick her firmly on the butt, niceness be damned. Then after I had her her change, 94 cents in change, she has the gall to say to me: "I think you gave me the wrong change. There shouldn't be all these pennies."

I said, "The total was $9.06."

She looks in the palm of her hand, and without apology and in a rude tone of voice, she said, "Well. I guess you're right."

Augh. I will never understand why people have to be so rude all the time. There's no point to it, and if you're looking for a nice, sincerely meant "Have a nice day!" if you treat me like that, you are either going to get one that is not nicely said or none at all. She didn't get the wishes for a nice day. So that's my revenge, and I couldn't do more than that...well, I could, but I shouldn't. So I just sort of gave her the cold shoulder and walked off in this foul mood to straighten cards.

So basically, the lesson is: be nice to salespeople. It all works out in the long run. Trust me on this. I hate being nice to mean customers. I won't treat them well if they're mean and it puts me in a bad mood.

Now I have to do a load of laundry and test out that Billy Blank tape I got at Target. I need to shed the pounds that accumulated upon my person during my time in Germany and during the past few weeks as I ate my way through meals that I missed while abroad...

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!