Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:19 p.m. - August 07, 2002
Attractions
I just wanted to share a few more things. I mean, you probably don't want to hear that I had a dental checkup today and a cleaning. No cavities. That's probably the high of my day, in addition to finally finding the perfect gift for a friend that's getting married on the 17th. She's one of those super picky people and you can tell if she is disappointed in your gift (she needs to learn how to fake enthusiasm for her gifts, but anyway...)

I found a lovely amber pendant and a plain chain to go with it--I've already gotten her wedding gifts for her and Russ, but I think she needs to be more selfish and maybe have something she can't possibly share with Russ. So I got her a beautiful, simple pendant. Now I want one, too.

Anyway. On the theme of attractions (and now I've the craze to say "elective affinities"). When I went out with Vera several days ago on that shopping trip, we stopped by Olive Garden to eat dinner. Well, we had this completely hot waiter with a smile to die for and lovely eyes...hoo-boy. Now, Vera's no longer a flirt, and I'm a chicken, quite frankly. But I got up the courage to scrawl an anonymous note on the back of my receipt (no, I paid with cash, so he can't trace me), which read, "Adam, you've got a nice smile. :)" So. Maybe I'm making some progress. Just not exactly sure what sort of progress, though...

Plus, I fall in and out of love again. Isn't that how the song goes? ("I keep on falling in and out of love with you...") Well, really, it's not love. It's called crushing big time. Anyway, I remembered several days ago that I got some strange email from a website called Send a Crush, saying that someone has a crush on me.

My first thought was, "Who the heck would have a crush on me?" So out of curiosity, I clicked on the link, and had to fill in my name and stuff...and then guess who my mystery admirer was. Well. Tough luck. I don't know. I entered just about every guy's name I know and have come up empty every time.

I have maybe two guy friends. One has a girlfriend, and the other is gay and has the cutest boyfriend. So there. So here's my plea. If you happen to know if I really do have a mystery admirer, I'd appreciate it if you could tell me if you know who it was.

And I was trying to figure out if I actually had someone drooling over me when I was in high school. Somehow I can't imagine myself inciting lustful thoughts in anyone, particularly when I was going through that awful clothing stage (and scrub-ish style) during my high school years. I'm glad to say that I dress better now. Maybe I incite lust in some guy now. (Or if you know of someone who actually had a crush on me during high school years, hey, let me know. Or if you had a crush on me in high school. Or maybe college. I promise not to run in terror. Unless you're a certain former Features editor for the Wooster Voice who kept tallies of all the girls, who for mysterious reasons, hopped into his bunk bed for some entertainment.)

But I am scared to think of who it may be, since I seem to attract only scary, sleazy guys looking for a good time--if you get my drift--or old geezers. After all, I'm a sweet young thing, aren't I?

One of my acquaintances, who is also Asian American, has a theory about this: since we're Asian in heritage, maybe old coots think we're going to be submissive, obedient, domestic, the whole stereotype of the sweet Asian girl...

Well, I may be nice, but I'm sure as heck not submissive, and I'm not always obedient. I'll put up a fight before I even have to give in to something I disagree with...and if my room is any indication, I'm not domestic, but I can cook up a storm...

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!