Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:33 p.m. - August 08, 2002
A sad day
Today's entry is not going to be happy. I'm warning you.

Mom came home from work about 11 AM, as I was making myself some breakfast. She looked awful. Miserable. I thought maybe something went wrong at work or that maybe she had gotten up in a bad mood (it happens sometimes).

I was going to ask her what was wrong, hoping she wasn't upset with me, and she blurts out, "Linda's son was killed in an accident this morning."

Linda is one of the friends that mom has, and the one of her "crazy bunch" of friends that we all like very much--the other people are nuts and shallow, but they're there for my mom if she needs them.

Linda's sons--three of them--are the nicest boys I've ever met. I don't know them well, but they're always smiling and treating us all nicely, warmly.

Mike, her second son, was riding his motorcycle this morning and was killed.

I can't shake some thoughts from my head--I don't have the book with me, but there's a line in The Golems of Gotham that goes something like, "Why must parents outlive their children?" and I think of the character in the book, whose children were killed in the Holocaust, weeping, wondering why children die before their parents. He's not the only one, I'm sure. I know that I am wondering that, and I know my parents are, and Linda and her husband and her other sons...why does this happen?

I'm crying now.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!