Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:00 a.m. - August 23, 2002
Friday Five
1. What is your current occupation? Is this what you chose to be doing at this point in your life? Why or why not?
Right now, I'm still a student. I start grad school on Monday. So really, I didn't plan on being a perpetual student, but rather, an audiologist. I made that decision nearly ten years ago, when I realized how little people knew about hearing loss; how few expectations professionals had for children who were born deaf. And I decided I was going to change the world.

2. If time/talent/money were no object, what would your dream occupation be?
Without a question, an artist. a visual artist. I think I have talent in this area.

3. What did/do your parents do for a living? Has this had any influence on your career choices?
My mom has a degree in Food and Nutrition and my dad was a chemical engineer. Since 1986, they have owned and managed a Hallmark store in the area. Am I now crazy for wanting the business? And no, their career choices had no impact on my decision to work with children who are hearing impaired. I think that came more from life experience.

4. Have you ever had to choose between having a career and having a family?
No, and I won't do that. Both are important; at this point "career" is more important because I have no significant other, and I just want to get the degree and get grad school all over with...I hope I never have to make that choice. The person I end up marrying will just have to support my career choices too...

5. In your opinion, what is the easiest job in the world? What is the hardest? Why?
Easiest job...something that you can do without effort and something that makes you happy; makes the day seem short when it's really long. Hardest job would be something that challenges you to the point of insanity and tears of frustration. And it's something that isn't worth it.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!