Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:51 a.m. - August 27, 2002
First day
I spent $350 on 4 textbooks yesterday. So no one complain to me about how expensive their books are. My ex-roommate used to complain about the cost of her books, but now I've got her beat.

Class was fine. It's all procedural stuff, a lot of going over syllabi and introducing ourselves to one another. So far, the people seem nice enough. There are nine females (including myself) and two guys. So I sincerely doubt that there's going to be anything romantic going on between me and those guys.

I am so going to die of boredom in one of my classes, research methods. I took statistics and a thesis class in college. So this stuff is old material for me, though the refresher will be nice. Here's an example. We all started introducing ourselves in class (I still haven't given my introduction yet, due to time constraints). But we had to tell our name, our specialty, what statistics or research methods classes we've taken, and whether we've participated in research at all (either as a participant or researcher).

So most people are like, "My name is Jane Doe, and I major in Speech Path/Audiology. I took a basic stats course. I participated in psychology experiments for extra credit."

The whole time, I am thinking, "Hoo-boy. Here's me: 'I'm Stacey. I am an Audiology major. I took a statistics course in Pscyhology and a thesis writing class in college. I have been both a participant and researcher. I'll start with my participation. I've participated in a bunch of psych experiments for extra credit. I've also been a case study for my professor and I've also participated in a research study about literacy in auditory-verbal children. Okay, as a researcher, I've done a junior thesis on P300's (evoked auditory potentials) in a set of twins, one of whom was hearing impaired. That was a qualitative study. For my senior thesis, I did a quantitative study about auditory-verbal graduates and their rationales for choosing hearing aids or cochlear implants, and their reported listening abilities. Last year, I received a grant to do research in Munich, Germany. I did a qualitative research project--it's still ongoing--about the support--like educational, political, and social support available to adults with hearing loss. Basically, I interviewed some adults about their experiences. I'm hoping to continue this project with Americans so I can compare the countries with each other.'"

But really. I mean, does it seem like this class might be just a smidgeon too easy for me?

Meeting with my old friend last night was lovely. Of course, I am also sad about the fact that he has a girlfriend. It would be nice if he didn't...Oh well. That's okay. After six years, it's nice to see what he looks like, and he told me I looked really European--pointing out my red shoes. I promptly told him I got them at Payless.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!