Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:12 p.m. - September 06, 2002
Really, I'm not depressed.
I wrote an email to someone, and I realized that part of what I wrote would make a good entry. I mean, I like what I wrote. Here is the exerpt:

"I can relate to how it feels when you go back to the home where you grew up--after living abroad for a year, and now back here at home, it took me a while to readjust to it, and seeing people I knew before, and sometimes feeling like there's an entire ocean between us, though it may only be a formica table and two cups of coffee between us.

Seeing an old crush, and realizing that even though six years have passed, he's still quite attractive to me, and predictably, unavailable.

Knowing that life hurries on, and sometimes being in the midst of it all. Sometimes it feels like I've changed, and sometimes it feels like I'm the same, looking at everything that is different."

But really, I'm not depressed. Just thinking. And today went well, though I had to be at the university by 8:30 AM for someone to practice testing my hearing.

And I finally got my bill for my tuition. Now I'm just trying to figure out if I really am supposed to pay something or not, because my professor said I should be getting a full ride this semester...but I am not sure. Well, we'll see.

Highlight of my day: I went to the university library, was attempting to find the staircase, but ended up at the huge racks of sale books--old books no one wants anymore, and I saw a book with a tawdry title--a pulp fiction novel. Then I looked some more, and I saw row upon row of pulp fiction novels. In short, I was thrilled. And they were all 50 cents each! I think on Monday, I'm going to seek more pulp fiction novels to beef up my puny collection of trashy novels. This pleases me because I bought a pulp fiction novel for $14.96 or something like that in Pennsylvania (the one I really wanted was going for $48.00). I even have some bids on ebay for some trashy ones, but we'll see what happens.

I think the best part about pulp fiction are the covers and the summaries, as well as the taglines.

Sometimes, I wish there were still such things as dime-store novels, penny dreadfuls, pulp fiction. But I bet you that they'd cost $6.99 instead of 35 cents.

Oh well. Nostalgia is always good, though.

Oh. By the way, I just watched My First Mister--a video I rented from Blockbuster. Watch it. It's awesome.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!