Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:12 p.m. - September 11, 2002
Redundancies
First of all: Why do people need to seek coke floats? Lots of people seem to be finding my diary, using "coke floats" as a search string.

Well, if you're looking for a recipe, it's easy. Scoop out some ice cream into a nice tall glass. Pour coke over it. Drink the coke and eat the ice cream.

Okay. That's the recipe for the day, I guess.

I feel like I should be writing something about 9/11, but what I'm going to do is make this short and sweet: maybe you won't like my opinions or reactions, but truthfully, having lived in a totally different country for one year--I have a very different perspective on things than do a lot of people who were actually in the US when the WTC fell. In addition, I haven't been bombarded with images from 9/11, because I was in Germany, and there, other important things happen. Plus, I have less and less time to devote to TV-watching (today is the first day since Saturday that I've even watched anything on TV. My mind candy of choice: Diagnosis: Murder)

What I wanted to say is: life goes on. As trite as it sounds, I find that we're all moving, living, going on with our lives. Whether or not we've been directly affected by the bombing (ie, we know someone who was killed), or indirectly (we're somewhere in the heartland of US, and watched TV and cried when reading newspapers, or were in some other country, etc., etc.). While I cannot deny that this incident has changed the lives of people as we know it (such as foreign policy, opinions, prejudices, stock market, faith, etc., etc., etc., ad infinitum), we all have the need to continue living.

We all have the need to go on, continue working or going to school. Not letting ourselves isolate one single day, because in reality, September 11 is still a date. Unfortunately, it's a date associated with tragedy. But as I said, it's still a date, and life goes on as usual.

My friend, who is now studying in New York, sent me an email and at the end, he wrote, "i'm here in nyc on sept. 11, and things seem to be nyc normal around here . . . hustle bustle, but perhaps with less of an edge ?? . . ." Perhaps we need to take this day as a gift. A reminder to treasure the small things in life, to smile more often, to live life as it was meant to be lived: with joy and beauty, with faith and hope, with innocence and kindness...all those endless positive modifiers.

I won't say more on this topic. There's still more to be said, but I think with the endless barrage of media commentary and speeches and memorial speeches, it's probably quite enough. But if you want to read more about 9/11, please hop over to mnemonia's diary.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!