Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:13 a.m. - September 13, 2002
Amazement
I know I should be in bed now. I do have school tomorrow. But I just had to write...

Sometimes life just amazes me; it is filled with coincidences and fateful events; sometimes I am convinced that there are little patterns, little things that happen in life, so that it all works out in the end.

Today, I went out with one of my very best friends, who is moving to South Carolina in just a bit over a week--so this was our final get together till Christmas...we decided to meet at Borders, and when she arrived a bit late, we were chatting a bit, looking at books and stuff. She turned around and noticed a book about publishing--she wants to be a novelist (actually, she's already written one but has not proceeded, at this point, to send manuscripts to publishers). I picked up a book about publishing poetry, and I was reading a poem out loud. Halfway through the poem, this older man--about 65 years old, walked up to us.

He said to Jeannette, "I'm sorry, I've been staring. But your eyes are so blue!"

Then he saw Jeannette was holding a book about publishing, and I was holding a book about publishing poetry, and he started talking.

"Have you heard of Rumi? He's a Persian poet, where I'm from." He talked a little bit more about Rumi, and then he added, "My novel is coming out next year in January."

While I'm starting to feel blown away--and I know Jeannette was, too, this guy started talking a bit more. "Oh, I've published two other books. You can probably find them at the library."

So he shows us some advertisement in a Writer's magazine, and he started talking about Rumi and Hafiz (or Hafez) and the plot of his book, getting into telling us about the specific chapters and so forth...

It was so neat--it truly was. It was like...fate. A little bit of excitement, a little bit of joy. I truly think so. I think that hearing from him that he never took a poetry class before--in fact, he's an economics major (and he did start telling us about his dissertation)...

He gave us the name of his book as well as his phone number and e-mail address.

After he left, Jeannette and I looked at each other, sort of speechless, unable to talk. I don't know what I was trying to think, except that I was just so in awe, and once we were able to utter a few words, we were able to gather our thoughts and see if we could find some of Rumi's books (we did) as well as two Hafiz books.

Isn't that just amazing?

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!