Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:07 a.m. - September 27, 2002
Que Sera, Sera
1. What are your favorite ways to relax and unwind?
I like to read trashy mystery novels. I also knit, do crafty things, write letters, write in my journal, etc.

2. What do you do the moment you get home from work/school/errands?
Since I am a graduate student with an insane schedule, I spend lots of time doing things at school, and I come home at about 7 P.M. Naturally, the first thing I do is eat. Then I study. If it's Wednesday, I sometimes watch Candid Camera because it's funny and won't make me mad or torture me with cliffhangers or anything like that.

3. What are your favorite aromatherapeutic smells?
I like peppermint. It's really revitalizing, which is what I like.

4. Do you feel more relaxed with a group of friends or hanging out by yourself?By myself, I'd have to say. It's a time of being relaxed and quiet; a time to just think and read, do artwork, sleep. Be alone with my thoughts. I've learned how to treasure solitude.

5. What is something that you feel is relaxing but most people don't?
I do collages. I like cutting out things and putting it all together in a way that fits. If you want to see some of my collages, hop on over to my website and click on "Stacey's Attempts At..." (then "artistic fame"). I plan on doing some more this weekend.

Especially since I need to relax--the theme of this Friday Five once again correlates to the themes in my entry.

I have been studying the entire week (in case you were wondering where I went). So I'd be at school, come home, eat some dinner, then go upstairs to pore over anatomy and clinical methods.

Now my test is about 2-3 hours away, and now all I have to say is "Que Sera, Sera" because I don't know what will happen next, and I've studied as much as I could. And of course, I still have trouble with one of the diagrams, and I've pored over it for a long time and it still doesn't make sense to me. So here's to hoping that particular diagram stays off the test. The professor gave us about ten different diagrams and told us that one of them will be on the exam. We'll see if I studied the right ones (well, I studied all of them, but some I studied more than others. I'll review them all again in the last half-hour before the exam. which is the way it should be.)

Right now, there's a banner for White Lime Handbags, and I'm thinking it might be nice to learn how to sew...

Anyway, several days ago--on Tuesday--I stopped by the grocery store to buy some food to bring to the university for lunch the next day, and I was pondering the soup cans in the canned soup aisle, when this red-headed woman said something to me. So I looked at her, and she said something to the effect of, "I'm just looking for soup...I just found out that I'm pregnant, and my doctor said I have to eat better--less sodium, more calcium."

Before I could congratulate her and go back to picking out a can of soup, she kept talking. Before I knew it, she pretty much told me her life story; her ancestors' stories and so on. All of that in twenty minutes. She finally made her goodbyes, and I grabbed a can of chowder off the shelf and hightailed it out of the soup aisle, just in case she'd find me again.

I know I like to talk, but...do I talk that much? Do I tell my life story in twenty minutes? I'm just wondering.

I came home and asked my mom, "Do I have something on my forehead that says, 'It's okay. Talk to me. I won't ignore you'?" I must have, because strangers do like to come to me just to talk. I don't understand this. Is there some sort of sweetness aura that emanates from me or something? Beth--you know me. What do you think? Let me know.

And of course, when I was taking the food out of my grocery bag, I realized that in my haste, I had bought the wrong soup. Clam Chowder, and I hate seafood. Oh well.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!