Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:24 p.m. - October 03, 2002
Thursday
So I am a fan of some aspects of the eighties. Even though I complain like mad when it comes to the hobo chic clothes that I see all the time (leaving me two options: dress like a gypsy or dress like a a boring professional).

I go for the boring professional. It's good practice. Plus, I look horrible in frilly type things--for some reason, I just look frumpy. I look like I'm trying to be cool, but can't quite succeed.

However:


What 80's idol are you?

brought to you by Quizilla

I was once cool? Never. But in any case, I did like Family Ties, even though I never had a crush on Michael J. Fox. I may or may not have lusted after Kirk Cameron as a ten year old. That I can't remember. I had the pictures from Teen Bop or whatever that is, but I can't remember if I drooled over Mike Seaver every time I had an appointment with Family Ties.

Fred Savage was my love.

One thing I've noticed about this whole nostalgia thing is that I'll pick out things (like clothes or jewelry) and my mom will say, "I like that too. I had one just like that!" And she'd say something like, "I think you're getting old, because you like everything I do."

I told her that she's devloping a better sense of style.

But no, really. we seriously pick out (most of the time) the same accessories and clothes, and she'll have had them when she was my age.

(Mom said, after I was looking at a hat or something, "That's scary. I used to have one of those.")

Also, I got taken off my medication because it caused my triglycerides to skyrocket (on medication for skin issues, in case you really wanted to know). I'll be able to get back on it if it goes back down within the next two weeks or month.

Basically, this means I can't eat super junky stuff: no fried foods, no sugary stuff, low-carb stuff, and just take better care of my diet. While it's good, it's frustrating because it's hard to find good, healthy food to eat. Like, I come home at 7PM and I'm so hungry and have so little time to cook something healthy, and when I'm at school through lunchtime, it's also hard. There's only one restaurant, vending machines, and I had to start brownbagging (or insulated-bagging) it. It's a pain, to tell the truth. I prefer having places like delis or deli bars in addition to the fast food type place, so it's quite annoying to me. Especially since I'm not on a room/board/food plan (I think it's just for students who live on campus in campus housing).

I was so frustrated this morning, because in my house, it's hard to have healthy food around, since people are busy, and secondly, people (including myself once in a while) keep buying food loaded with sugar, salt, fat, etc.

Sigh.

But at least this diet will be good for me. It's a healthy one.

Now off to bed.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!