Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:17 p.m. - October 20, 2002
Procrastination
Can you tell that I do not want to study? I have a midterm on Tuesday, and yet, my fingers are itching to knit and watch stitches form themselves into a huge palate of color.

Unfortunately, duty calls. But I'm ignoring the calls just now. So I'm sitting here in the basement, trying to get the itchy impatience out of my system before I have to sit down with my notes.

The past week has been busy--and I'm once again trying to figure out just how to conserve time--and I just remembered I have to register for next semester's classes.

But on Friday, I just relaxed over a cup of chocolate tea. Of course, the hour before I came home from school was spent trying to find a tea ball so I could seep the tea when I came home...I found it at Walmart, which really is an Evil Place, but I was desperate. At least I got to drink chocolate tea--something I had been trying to locate for months--finally lucked out with an online tea store (this does not take into consideration the many online tea stores I browsed--chocolate herbal tea--but I wanted the black tead, and there is chocolate mint tea--but I just wanted CHOCOLATE tea.) But in any case, I also ended up with chocolate strawberry tea and a free sample of currant tea--so I am rather curious about the latter. I guess chocolate tea will be my treat after I finish studying.

Yesterday I went to a wedding reception--I was excited to go since I knew that it was going to be pretty ethnic--the people who invited us are Indian and Indian food was to be served. Well, umm...the food was really, really, really SPICY. And the server with the pitcher of water didn't come down to my end of the room often enough. So there was a table of us trying to stay cool between bites of food flavored with curry and so on. Spicy. Two of the people at my table eventually wimped out and requested for the kiddie plates of pizza, chicken tenders, and french fries.

I laughed.

I know. I'm so mean.

But the food wasn't so attractive, which was a shame. In the case I get married and decide to have ethnic food (in this case, Chinese food. That's when pigs fly), I will also add american components--a salad, perhaps. Maybe some dishes that are more americanized. That sort of thing. Not a straight Chinese meal. My friends would probably die. I can just see my former roommate at a linen-covered table, suspiciously sniffing Ma Po Tofu and bean curd, and potstickers. I can see her saying to my friend, "Oh, God, this is the worst wedding food...." I will not have one hour of speeches.

Did I mention that? After we all sat down, the bride's brother stood up to give a speech. Yes, that's nice. He turned the microphone to someone else. The servers put soup on our plates. I wait a moment to see if the brother's going to tell everyone to please enjoy their food.

Nope. Another person gets the mike. By this time, the mood has been killed and people sit in boredom and have started eating their soup. That's how it was for the next forty-five minutes or so. I was surprised because usually, speeches are quick and to the point, and then people eat, mingle, talk and are noisy. Everyone was too bored and attention was flagging by the time the next bowl of soup and bread came out.

That's how not to have a wedding reception. I'm going to register for classes now.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!