Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:02 a.m. - October 28, 2002
Mondays are blue
Where'd my weekend go?

Did someone up there forget that I absolutely hate Mondays? I dread them, actually, ever since starting school. I honestly do.

I hate Mondays.

But at least last night I watched Dogma on TV, and I was surprised that it was actually pretty good. I swear, anyone who's anyone in the world of movies shows up in it...And one of the best things is that I think my dad enjoyed it too. I can't believe that I turned my nose up at this movie when it first came out. Sometimes, being a film snob can have its disadvantages--I miss some of those good movies. But then again, I did see Mallrats, which I hated...

As a semi-Catholic girl, I found that a lot of the movie rang true for me. I was struck by Monsignor Glick's (George Carlin) statement, which went something like (in regards to the crucifix): "Jesus was not put on earth to give people the willies."

Right on. And from a young age, and up to today, this crucifix has always scared the heck out of me, and I always used to wonder why anyone would want to wear a crucifix around their neck. I'm not kidding. Those pendants always scared the heck out of me.

I think Ebert describes it best:"Kevin Smith's "Dogma" grows out of an irreverent modern Catholic sensibility, a byproduct of parochial schools, where the underlying faith is taken seriously but the visible church is fair game for kidding."

Then I followed it up with The Dead Zone, which is an absolutely fascinating drama with Anthony Michael Hall in it.

Little wonder I dreamed I was telekinetic--between the angels, demons, and the ability to see the past and the future...

And I'm up early this morning. Darned daylight savings time--I awoke at 7 AM yesterday, and today at 8 AM, but then again, I am a little (understatement) stressed out here. I honestly cannot wait till Christmas break, so I can finally feel relaxed. I was telling one of my classmates that the last time I slept well was in the summer. And that it was in June or July, when I was in Germany. Life can be really frustrating sometimes, when you realize you haven't slept well in ages, and yet, you must tarry on.

Wait, I have a better goal. I can't wait till I graduate and get that degree. Then I won't have to worry about exams and practicums--well, after that, practicums will be for real. What the heck am I thinking?

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!