Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:19 p.m. - October 31, 2002
Happy Halloween
One of the things I absolutely find funny is this:

When people learn that I spent a year abroad in Germany, they say, "Oh, do you speak German?"

"Yeah."

"Fluently?"

For some reason, that strikes me as funny. It seems like I have been getting questions like this these past several days. (And twice today).

Although, retrospectively, it's sort of scary. Is it because people don't expect other Americans to know other languages? Or is it that they think everyone in other parts of the world knows English and speaks English all the time?

Hmm. Food for thought.

In either case, it's a strange sort of ignorance, I suppose.

I hope everyone had a happy halloween. Mine was spent at appointments (doctor's and hairdresser's) in the morning, at school all afternoon, and running errands for my dad after I came home, which meant that my original plans for studying this evening were tossed right out the window.

And truthfully, studying is something I really need to do. I have a major cumulative exam in one week and not enough time--but that's the way it is...

But at least I got my hair cut. And at least I'll have time over the weekend to study and learn material that I don't comprehend. Like that'll help.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!