Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:05 p.m. - November 06, 2002
Aftermath
Ohio, I'm disappointed in you! You didn't pick Tim Hagen to be your governor! Why'd you pick Bob Taft again? Here we go--poor funding for higher education...and no Kate Mulgrew shimmying through Columbus.

How sad.

Actually, when I read the results of voting this morning (who'd have thought I'd get so involved in politics? Obviously after that whole Gore-Bush thing...)...I was really quite sad.

C'mon. GOP control of all three branches of government? And people aren't scared of this? Or maybe it's just the liberal people who are scared of that--and I think it also has to do with the negative mudslinging on both parts, and fear.

If you think about it, arms in the US generally are used for self-defense purposes--many people are just afraid. And I'm not talking about just September 11, the sniper attacks, previous attacks on the WTC, but the myriad of attacks on individual people. The media tends to perpetuate these concepts (read: now everyone thinks everyone's after them), and sensationalize them. Does this make sense?

As much as I hear how people wanted Democrats in office...I think fear drove people to vote for the Republicans because of their stance on war, on defenses, etc. That and they built on people's fears by saying things like, "If you vote for the other guy--boy,oh,boy, you've just made the biggest mistake of your life..."

That, to me, is a scary thing--I just wish we had that checks and balances system right now. I have images of Bush sending all the young boys off to war.

I have images of myself protesting (nonviolently) against the aforemented war. I'll stay away from College Hill. I see myself campaigning for the next election, on the Democratic side. I see myself becoming a penny-pinching girl, watching the economy as I shuffle through Gabriel Brothers, seeking bargains on clothing. I see myself being thankful I am female and therefore untouchable by the draft.

So you see, I'm being positive about it all.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!