Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:34 p.m. - November 08, 2002
Autobiographical detail (sort of)
So. Who am I?

Good question.

Since I am not sure how to do this, I'm going to do the 100 things about me thing.

1) My name is Stacey

2) People insist on spelling my name without an "e"

3) Or they spell it "Staci"

4) People in Germany think my name is "Daisy"

5) One of my professors in Germany called me "Spacey"

6) I like to think that even though I'm very individualistic, I'm not out of this world

7) But I do believe in life out there

8) Once, I wanted to live on the moon

9) I still would like to

10) But only when there's a space bubble up there and a Hilton

11) I hate 2001: A Space Odyssey

12) I just don't get it

13) And this is from a film snob

14) My favorite movie is Little Man Tate

15) But I tend to watch Clue at the end of the semester or when I need a break

16) Galaxy Quest also does the job well when I don't feel like watching Clue

17) I haven't seen Clue in over a year

18) I was in Germany all last year

19) I was doing research there

20) I lived in Munich

21) I speak German fluently

22) Or at least I like to think that I do

23) I took German for four years in high school

24) And three years in college

25) My major was not German

26) But it was my minor

27) My major was Communication Sciences and Disorders

28) I am now a graduate student in Audiology

29) I have a love-hate relationship with the major

30)Sometimes when I hate it, I want to quit

31) And major in art instead

32) But I like it, too

33) So I am not giving up

34) I also want to be called "Doctor"

35) And that's another reason I am staying in the program

36) This is harder than I thought it would be

37) I like to read

38) My favorite book is The Secret Garden

39) I also love mysteries

40) My favorite mystery writer is Barbara Michaels/Elizabeth Peters (same person, different pseudonyms)

41) I also love children's books

42) If I were an English major, I'd specialize in children's literature

42) And I'd probably write a thesis about gender roles in Nancy Drew books

43) I still have most of my Nancy Drew books

44) My trashy book passion is pulp fiction

45) I have over twenty pulp novels

46) I've only had time to read one

47) My other weird passion is reading knitting magazines

48) But I can't read patterns

49) To date, I have too many scarves

50) I knit most of my own scarves and some hats

51) My favorite yarns are Noro and Lana Grossi

52) I would like to learn how to crochet

53) I also want to learn how to sew

54) I think I'm becoming exceedingly domestic

55) I am a good cook

56) I love to make baklava

57) And a mean kaesespatzle

58) I don't know how to cook a lot of chinese food

59) But I can make fried rice

60) I'm Chinese-American

61) But I don't speak Chinese

62) I don't eat a lot of Chinese food

63) But I am always looking for good potstickers

64) I'm born and raised in Ohio

65) I still live in Ohio

66) Once, a guy came up to me at work and asked me, "We're going to New York City this weekend. I was wondering if you could recommend any good Chinese restaurants there?"

67) I've only been to NYC once

68) The only thing I did in Chinatown was buy a fake Rolex and hold a dripping umbrella over my head

69) I could never live in NYC

70) It's too harsh for me

71) If I had to live in a big city, I'd go back to Munich

72) Or maybe go to Toronto, Canada

73) One of my very best friends in the world lives in Toronto

74) I love Canada

75) I want to go to Prince Edward Island someday

76) I want to visit the Anne of Green Gables place there

77) I love to travel

78) I have been to Germany, England, Austria, Italy, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Spain, Holland, Czech Republic, France, Japan, Canada, Philippines, Hong Kong, and a lot of states in the US

79) My favorite country is Switzerland

80) One of the most fun places to visit is Venice, Italy during Karneval

81) I want to learn how to speak Italian

82) I think it is one of the most beautiful languages in the world

83) I was in an Italian class for one day

84) It didn't work out

85) I took Hungarian for one month

86) I thought I was going to have a brain overload

87) I took it in Germany

88)I would like to visit Hungary, too

89) Oh, I'm hearing impaired

90) I don't know sign language

91) I wear a hearing aid in on ear

92) And a cochlear implant in the other ear

93) I was born with a profound hearing loss

94) People said I'd never learn how to talk

95) I did

96) And that's why I wanted to go into audiology

97) I love to prove people wrong all the time

98) I'm running out of things to say

99) I love to sleep

100) It is past my bedtime now

Good night.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!