Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:33 p.m. - November 24, 2002
Rings on her fingers and bells on her toes
Gee. I feel so creative right now.

It's 10:30 PM and I feel the need to spin tales and stories and dialogues...But after I update, I'm going to bed. Because really, I need the sleep.

Anyway, yesterday, I blew off my day--originally I had planned to pore over tomes related to audiology and research methodology, but I decided there was no better time to hit the mall and seek a new pair of jeans and red cords (not bright red, mind you, but dark burgundy or wine colored cords. Yes, I am odd).

Anyway, my trek through the mall cost me way too much money, as the only pants that seem to fit me come from those expensive stores like the Express or AEO. I did find my jeans at AEO, which is good--and I had to settle for AEO because with many of the other stores, there was this risk of plumber butt occurring. And I found my red cords at A&F (a place I generally avoid, but I was desperate for a pair of jeans. Desperation can lead you to do odd things).

Anyway, toting bags of pants from AEO and A&F as well as a bag holding a pair of dress pants--which I realized I needed, since I have been wearing the same pair of pants for clinic the past MONTH, I stopped at a little kiosk.

This kiosk smelled of incense and had a selection of crystal and jewelry that I suppose has meanings for the various stones.

Well, I like to look at cool jewelry...and I have been looking for an amber ring that fits. So I found one and a rose quartz ring, but I couldn't decide between the two. And neither bore price tags, so I asked the vendor (so reminiscent of Saffron Tonton--the new agey woman who sold her wares at my undergrad)...how much both rings were, figuring I'd buy the cheaper one.

Well, they were the same price. That didn't help, really.

I sighed, "I can't decide..."

She then asked me, "Are these for you?"

"Yeah."

She picked up the rings and held them out, so she could slip them on my fingers. For some odd reason, my hands started shaking--I'm not sure why that was. Now I just sort of realized that my hands were trembling when she put these rings on my hands.

The rose quartz ring was on my left hand and the amber ring on the right. At the same time, we pointed to the amber ring..."This one," I said. "This one."

Smiling, she said, "I think we made the right choice. That was my vibe--that this was the ring for you."

"Oh, cool." At the same time, I was--and am--skeptical about her beliefs. Either she was a good salesperson or she really was a true new-agey person. I don't know. But the ring did look like it belonged on my hand, even though yellow is my least favorite color. It just seemed to burn with this light of its own. Go figure.

I took both rings off and handed them back to her. Polishing the amber ring, she went on, "Do you know about amber?"

"A little."

"Amber's really not a stone. It's actually sap." She then showed me a necklace made of amber beads, and continued telling me a little bit more about amber.

The ring polished, she handed it back to me. She rifled through her papers and found a receipt. As she was filling out the form, she asked me, "Are you musical?"

"I used to play the piano," I responded, wondering what fortune she was going to deal me.

"I got this feeling you are musical...This ring will make you more musical...no, not more musical. But it will make you more productive in music."

"Oh, that's cool." I thought for a second. "Are you saying amber makes people more musical?"

"No, no. It will make you more musical. Amber doesn't make people more musical, but I feel it will make you more musical."

"Oh, I see."

"Do you want to wear the ring now?"

"Yeah."

"Okay." She handed me the ring. "Let me know if you get more creative these next few days."

"Sure. I'll let you know."

I don't know that the ring made me more creative, but I do feel like writing...and I did finish knitting a scarf. So good. Two scarves finished, how many more to go? Like four? Before Christmas...Wow. I'm going to be busy. At least my Christmas holiday begins December 13. But then that's Friday the 13th, and we all know what that means, right? Remind me to tell you my Friday the 13th story sometime. It's horrible.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!