Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:06 p.m. - November 26, 2002
Memories
Today is a flood of nostalgia for high school.

Today, as I walked to the building where the speech-language pathology and audiology clinic is, I noticed a cute guy, about my age, walking toward me. Leather jacket, dark brown-black hair, glasses, a bit of a beard. He was pulling his cell phone out of his pocket, and I looked at him. Part of it was, "Gee, he's cute" and the other part of me was..."I know that guy..."

He squinted at me (what a sight we must have made, squinting at each other, making our near-or-farsightedness worse looking than they really are.)

"Stacey?"

"Chris?"

"I don't believe it!"

We leaned in for hugs, awed by the amazing coincidence of running into a long-lost high school classmate after five years.

So that was wonderful. Truly, really wonderful to run into an old classmate, one that I've always liked, and one that's always been nice to me.

Man, that was just super.

And today when I came home (ok, so maybe some parts of my day were not perfect, but this is not the place nor the time--well, not the time now), my little brother handed me the proofs from his senior picture shoot.

My little brother's going to be a killer-diller, if he isn't already. This guy is a billion times more photogenic than I, and he looks like a model in those pictures.

I am so amazed at how beautiful my little brother is. Normally, he wears an expression of perpetual boredom or scorn, and in those photos, he looks so relaxed and happy, and it shows. I told him he should model for catalogs, if he wants money. He laughed at me. I seriously think he can do that--he's handsome.

I decided to look for my senior pictures. I found them in my closet.

Yikes. Big mistake. I look dorky in a number of my photographs, like I haven't quite grown into myself (and I was very much in the "no makeup, thank you very much" stage). Now I wear some (minimal) makeup so I can at least look more "together" in clinic, you know...and being in a class full of girls who wear makeup can make you feel a little insecure about your looks, I'll tell you that.

I wonder when exactly my class reunion will be.

I need to get myself to bed--I have to wake up early tomorrow because I have a counseling session at 10 AM, but I think I have to leave a bit earlier because snow is predicted in the morning. Ugh. Well, that's not necessarily a bad thing, but when I have to drive in it...

But at least the day will be over at noon, but I might drive out to a mall again and see if there's any gifts for anyone I could buy--but I am not sure about this yet.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!