Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:02 p.m. - November 29, 2002
Fraud
I wasn't planning to write anything today, since I was just going to study and work on my take-home final exam for Research Methods, so I won't have to do it next week. But I checked the mail, and now I have to write.

Did you know that once, I (and about 15 other people) were so gullible as to be conned by an internet fraud? Yes, I bid on a laptop on amazon.com once, and lost $342 dollars.

I nearly forgot about it because I was too embarrassed about it. Anyway, charges have been brought against this woman, and she's going on trial in January. This brings back different sorts of memories of anger, humiliation...definetely humiliation. Poverty. Sort of. I remember being very angry, because that was hard-earned money, and as an undergraduate student, I could have used $342 to buy textbooks, to go to the movies, to go shopping, to buy some groceries? But mostly, textbooks.

I needed that laptop for my research, too. No fair. I ended up using an old computer for quite some time, before I got an actual laptop--this one from Best Buy.

Somehow, I am still embarrassed about it, and I generally don't talk about it with my friends or former roommate--I kinda get the feeling that they don't want to, either.

Anyway, I got a letter from the US Attorney's office in Massachussetts, and along with it was an individual victim impact statement. Considering that this happened several years ago, I feel like my memory has dimmed--what year did I buy this, anyway? I've got to see if I can find the record in my checkbook.

I want my money back.

I think I'll be working on my statement tonight, instead of studying or trying to figure out the reliability in the research study that I am using for my exam.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!