Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:38 p.m. - December 03, 2002
Life, again
Ooh. I really haven't written anything, have I? Well, now I'm finally checking in.

Last night, I watched Taken on Sci-Fi. I didn't realize it was not a one-shot TV-movie dealio, but rather, it's a (mini) series. Which means--the last week of school before finals, I'm plopping myself down in front of the TV to watch Taken. I am such a sucker when it comes to interesting shows and movies.

Plus, that guy from Monk is on it--even though he's really not very attractive to me, I still like him.

Yesterday I actually got mail. Real mail. One letter (with three pictures) from my host family, one newsletter from a German support group for people with hearing loss, and a pack of CDs that someone burned for me--a set of Jill Sobule and Jim Boggia live performances. Cool. I was so happy--it's so rare that I actually get things in the mail from people. Most people stick to email, which is nice and all, but there's nothing like the feel of paper beneath your fingers, and deciphering someone's handwriting. I love it. It's just so much more personal.

Anyway. My host mom asked me if I wanted her to buy some yarn for me, since I really miss the yarn I found in Germany.

Today, I went to class (amplification) but before that, my clinic partner and I had to make phone calls to our clients and follow up on their progress. My amplification professor walked in--normally, she's in a grouchy mood, but today, she was in a great mood, so it was sort of scary. Nice, but scary.

And she decided to talk about our earmolds today--we had do make earmold impressions. (I haven't the patience to look for pictures--maybe I'll just have to scan one or something). She was critiquing them, since most of them were not "good enough". In her words, "There was only one good impression." Then she pulled one out. She said, "Well, this one is good. Maybe there are two good impressions. Let's see who the winner is."

She pulled the order form from the box, unfolded it and said, "Stacey!"

So...I was very happy indeed.

Perfect earmold impression. It only took about a billion tries...

Things like this can make everything seem like it's worth it.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!