Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:34 p.m. - December 05, 2002
Length
I need to go to bed soon--so this will not be short, of course.

Today was good...seems like life is good so far--I have an "A" from my audiological clinical supervisor and my amplification professor is still in a good mood--she was chatting away with me, telling me all these great things.

For instance, I am very good friends with one of her former students, and I told her about my friend's daughter, and that Karen is going to be giving a presentation in Denmark come April. The professor said something to the effect of, "You'll be giving speeches in Denmark someday!"

Whoa. And also--I forgot to mention this the other day--the people in the audiology department asked me to give some speeches to the Advancement Council (read: rich people who give generous donations to liberal arts programs at the university). This professor said something about the speech I will have to give. Then she said something like, "Well, if you need any help--or just want to practice, let me know and I'll help you."

Whooooa. She lurves me.

And...I decided to go ahead and sign away the next 3.5 years of my life. See, the master's program in Audiology is transitioning to a doctorate program next fall, and those of us currently in our first year have the option of either staying in a Master's program or sticking around for an extra year to get a doctorate...and I knew that AuD was the right decision for me, so I gave my intent to be a doctoral student instead of a Master's student.

For as much as I complain, I really think it's the right thing for me to do...it will all fall into place and I'll be fine...I will be fine...I will be fine...

Even though I feel like I'm coming down with a cold.

(Please stay healthy. I have finals next week).

And nabbed from Althea

1. Your name spelled backwards: Yecats

2. Where were your parents born?: My mom was born in Manila, Philippines and my dad was born in Jakarta, Indonesia. I am a byproduct of their marriage and am a first born american.

3. What is the last thing you downloaded onto your computer?: A picture of something; I was making a newsletter for our store.

4. What's your favourite restaurant?: Oh, toughie. I'd have to say either Sangams in Munich, Germany, this one noodlehouse in Makati (Metro Manila), Philippines, or Rockne's, a local chain.

5. Last time you swam in a pool?: Maybe when I was 13 years old.

6. Have you ever been in a school play?: Yes, I have. I was a pianist/extra/stage crew for my junior class play (Our Town) and I was in Woyzeck in college (a German play). I was der Jude, der Marktschreier, Eine, and Kind #3.

7. How many kids do you want?: Eek. None at the moment. Maybe two or three in the far-off future.

8. Type of music you dislike most?: Rap and heavy metal.

9. Are you registered to vote?: Yep!

10. Do you have cable?: Yes.

11. Have you ever ridden on a moped?: Nope.

12. Ever prank call anybody?: Not since I was 10.

13. Ever get a parking ticket?:No. Knock wood three times.

14. Would you go bungee jumping or sky diving?: No. Way.

15. Furthest place you ever traveled?: ? Philippines? Japan? Hong Kong? One of those.

16. Do you have a garden?: Not really sure if landscaping around the house counts as a garden.

17. What's your favourite comic strip?: For Better or Worse

18. Do you really know all the words to your national anthem?: You know. I have no idea. So probably not.

19. Bath or shower, morning or night?: Shower, because I hate the thought of wasting all the water. Has to do with the environmentalist streak that was instilled in me when I was in seventh grade.

20. Best movie you've seen in the past month?: In the theater? None. I saw Sweet Home Alabama tonight, and that was boring as heck. Video: probably...A Walk to Remember.

21. Favourite pizza topping?: Spinach. I'm strange.

22. Crisps or popcorn?: Potato chips--particularly salt and vinegar. I also love Kopper Popper caramel corn. Mmm. Too bad I'm on a diet for health reasons. Ugh.

23. What colour lipstick do you usually wear?: I don't wear lipstick. I do, however, wear lip gloss--my favorite is the Lip Lix brand. It smells yummy, tastes good, and has nice tints to it. So if people ever tell me that I'm an addict, I will sock them.

24. Have you ever smoked peanut shells?: Uh. Peanut shells???

25. Have you ever been in a beauty pageant?: Hahahaha. I'm not that beautiful! Even though creepy poet man says I am!

26. Orange juice or apple?: Apple. I'm strange--I hate orange juice, though I can drink it. I love pear juice, though.

27. Who was the last person you went out to dinner with and where did you dine?: I went to Outback Steakhouse tonight with 2 of my professors, some of their friends, one of my friends and her mom. I had Canberra Chicken (It was okay at best).

28. Favourite type of chocolate bar?: Does Reese's Peanut Butter Cups count as a chocolate bar? And I love Lindt dark chocolate bars.

29. When was the last time you voted at the polls?: Never.

30. Last time you ate a homegrown tomato?: Maybe in early September. My mom's best friend gave us some tomatoes, which I ate at school for my lunch.

31. Have you ever won a trophy?: Yes. I have a Rotary scholar trophy from 11th grade, I think. And then I have various bowling trophies--one is a "cellar champs" trophy for having one of the worst averages in the bowling league (the alley gave everyone trophies, regardless of scores) and another for I think one of the highest averages. I'll have to go look.

32. Are you a good cook?: I am an awesome cook. I love to cook. I believe in inventing recipes and trying out all sorts of recipes, no matter how unusual. I love to cook (I already said that...)

33. Do you know how to pump your own gas?: Yes, of course.

34. Ever order an article from an infomercial?: No. I have ordered things from catalogs, though.

35. Sprite or 7-Up?: 7-Up. I hate Sprite.

36. Have you ever had to wear a uniform to work?: Does wearing dress clothes and a vest (smock) count?

37. Last thing you bought at a pharmacy?: This is going to sound really weird. I bought some blank video cassettes and a bunch of travel toys (Christmas gift for a friend often on the road) and a Pet Rock keychain.

38. Ever throw up in public?: Embarassingly enough, yeah. I threw up on an airplane. Luckily, I was on the last leg of the flight home. This was last December.

39. Would you prefer being a millionaire or finding true love?: True love, because I'd be happier, I think.

40. Do you believe in love at first sight?: I don't know.

41. Ever call a 1-900 number?: I hate using the phone. So no.

42. Can exes be friends?: I think they can, if they have a good relationship and parted amicably.

43. Who was the last person you visited in a hospital?: My mom in June 2001 after she had a hysterectomy to remove a tumor. That was really scary.

44. Did you have a lot of hair when you were a baby?: Yeah. It was thick and spiky hair.

45. What message is on your answering machine?: My family has it set to default--so it says, "Hello. (pause) We are not at home now, so please leave a message after the beep."

46. What's your all-time favourite Saturday Night Live Character?: I don't watch SNL. I'm weird.

47. What was the name of your first pet?: I don't remember. But it was a goldfish that must have lived for about a week.

48. What is in your purse?: A mini Diogenes book from Germany, my wallet, a pocket calendar with Warhol prints on it, a few pens, my keys, lip gloss, papers, receipts, my keys, a ticket from the Karl Valentin museum, batteries for my cochlear implant and hearing aid, Kleenex, postage stamps, some letters, a postcard to mail, an Altoids box with one mint left, a package of quick-dissolve mints, a checkbook, a prescription for my medication, stuff like that and useless things I don't even remember having in my purse. And oh, lint at the bottom of my purse and some candy wrappers.

49. Favourite thing to do before bedtime?: Check my email, read my favorite entries, wash my face, brush my teeth and sometimes write in my journal or write a letter.

50. What is one thing you are grateful for today?: Tomorrow is the last day of classes and I have an "A" in my audiological evaluation clinic (I can't decide between these two. I have almost made it through my first semester of grad school!)

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!