Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:22 a.m. - December 16, 2002
I am not a bimbo of the death sun.
Yesterday, I saw Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. Golly. Was that ever a good movie...the only problem is that I had a medium drink (which is about the size of a large, which I did not realize, but...) and a three hour long movie...I don't think my bladder is 32 ounces large. So that was my problem.

It was like: Ooooh. I wanna see what happens. Then my bladder screams, "Oh, the agony! The agony!"

The bladder wins by a mile.

But wow, that movie was good, and dare I say--even better than the first movie, which to me is amazing--I thought the first movie was terrific, too...and I realized that if I were a Harry Potter character, I'd probably be Ron Weasley. His expression, as gigantic spiders descended around him and Harry, well, that just looks too reminiscent of me around large dogs.

(Did I mention that? I'm afraid of big dogs. Unless they are nice -- ie, big friendly golden retriever, friendly Irish setter, my friend's boxers, who are too old and know well enough to leave me alone. But I do like little dogs. Isn't that weird? Of all the fears to have in the world...I'm not afraid of spiders, but I am afraid of snakes and big dogs.)

I went shopping with my friend afterwards, and I got some of my Christmas shopping done. However, I still don't know what to get Jill; it feels like I don't really know her anymore but I also don't want to get her a generic gift, but it's hard not to because it seems like she's changed so much since we graduated from college.

I'll figure something out. I appear to be going with a cooking theme this year, so I'll find something cooking related. I just need to think about it, that's all.

I succumbed to my book weakness and bought Bimbos of the Death Sun by Sharyn McCrumb--and I am enjoying it so far. It's terrific--a murder mystery--no one's been murdered yet, but that point is coming soon...I just had to buy a book with a title like that, particularly since it was written by a woman (and there is an amusing introduction about the origin of the title and story, written by Sharyn McCrumb.) I'll let you know if it's good, so you can look for it yourself.

I just wish the cover of the book had a picture of the bimbos of the death sun instead of Schloss Newschwanstein--I think it would have made the book more tongue-in-cheek than it already is.

Well, off to shower, get ready, eat, watch a little TV and read a little bit of the above-mentioned book, and then I'm going to work.

And I really wanted to clean my room. But I think that's going to have to wait a while.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!