Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:12 a.m. - December 31, 2002
Mornings
I am waiting.

One of my friends is supposed to meet me online (8 AM), a challenge for a non-morning person.

In fact, my alarm went off for about four minutes before I actually woke up. And of course, I was dreaming that my alarm was going off, and that I couldn't get my eyes to open, nor could I figure out how to make it stop.

After a while, it felt like someone shook my left shoulder, so I finally work up and blearily tried to turn off my alarm clock.

I'm just wondering if maybe I should have slept in. After all, it's a quarter after 8, and she's not here yet...Shame on me for being a punctual sort of person.

8:22 AM: Now just sort of wondering what to do. I've already read my comic strips and favorite diaries.

Just wondering how much longer to stay on.

Perhaps I'll just talk about something now...Perhaps my past few days? These days are fading into the haze of obscurity--which means if I don't write the events down, I'm going to forget what they were.

For instance, my brother got his driver's license--sort of. See, he went to take his driving test on Friday--but they didn't let him take it because one of the DMV people goofed up when they issued his temporary license--so it was not valid. My brother then had to pay another ten dollars and retake the test for a temporary license the following day.

He then took his driving test (after the workers there recognized him, they asked him to stick around for another 45 minutes, and they'd squeeze him in).

They then passed him (yay) but when they went to take a picture for his license, the machine--wouldn't you know it--was not operational.

"Poor kid," said the woman working. She, after all, recognized him from the previous day.

Now my brother is driving around with a slip of paper, which allows him to driving and all the previleges assigned hereto.

8:27 AM: My friend is still not here. I am wondering again how long to stick around. Time for another story, and perhaps after 8:30 AM, I'm calling it quits and taking a shower. Maybe. Regardless, I'm still taking a shower.

I went to my friend's for our annual Christmas celebration. It took me two hours to get there--it's supposed to take one hour to drive from my house up to the Cleveland area. Two hours. This is why.

I had to get off at an exit, but my friend did not specify whether I needed to go east or west, so I took a guess and went east when I should have gone west. I drove for about 20 minutes, and hit a county line. Thus, I realized that I should not have gone that way. So I turned around and went back the other way, where I proceeded to hit every red light to my friend's house.

I reached her place very exasperated.

But it was good--lots of food and gifts. Lots. I slept too little, as one is apt to do at a sleepover with friends one does not see for an entire year.

8:37 AM: I am in the process of writing an email. Now I am going to recommend a few things for you. Since this is the end of the year, I'm just recommending things I may have come into contact with this year, whether they are new or old.

Book(s): Bimbos of the Death Sun by Sharyn McCrumb (I'm drawing a blank here because I have not done much reading, but I will try. Tomorrow I think I will do my "best of 2002" list.) The Vandemark Mummy by Cynthia Voigt, The Luneberg Variation (I forget who wrote it), Chapel Noir by Carole Nelson-Douglas, Lord of the Silent by Elizabeth Peters

Movie(s)/Video(s): Triumph of Love, Defending Your Life, Angus, Billy Elliot, 8 Femmes (8 Women), Dogma, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, Best in Show, Ice Age

Music: Genius by Warren Zevon, soundtrack from 8 Women, Home by the Dixie Chicks

8:45 AM: Having determined that I have wasted enough time, I decide to give up and take a shower. I wish you a happy new year!

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!