Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:55 a.m. - January 05, 2003
Resolutions
Thanks to Epiphany, I have found what religions I appear to share the most traits with. So here goes:

Rankings:

1. Mainline to Liberal Christian Protestants (100%)
2. Orthodox Quaker (90%)
3. Bah�'� Faith (89%)
4. Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day
5. Liberal Quakers (84%)
6. Orthodox Judaism (81%)
7. Mainline to Conservative Christian/Protestant (78%)
8. Eastern Orthodox (75%)
9. Roman Catholic (75%)
10. Jehovah's Witness (74%)
11. Sikhism (72%)
12. Unitarian Universalism (70%)
13. Islam (67%)
14. Reform Judaism (66%)
15. Neo-Pagan (58%)
16. Seventh Day Adventist (57%)
17. Christian Science (Church of Christ, Scientist)
18. Mahayana Buddhism (50%)
19. Theravada Buddhism (48%)
20. New Age (46%)
21. Secular Humanism (46%)
22. Hinduism (41%)
23. Scientology (39%)
24. Taoism (36%)
25. Jainism (36%)
26. New Thought (36%)
27. Nontheist (18%)

In addition to looking at what religions I should probably consider (surprisingly, I'm not more Catholic--perhaps it's my feminist leanings?), I blew off the whole day by watching lots of TV (this includes "The Producers", "The Maid" (This being a movie with Jaqueline Bissett and Martin Sheen, as well as a made-for-TV movie on PAX called "Wildfire 7")

I can't believe I watched about six hours of TV straight.

I seem to have quite a high tolerance for weird things, as evidenced by "Wildfire 7", which was not as sappy as I feared it would be, but well, I am a sucker for those made-for-TV movies. At least it was balanced out by The Producers.

What I really came down here to do, however (before going to bed in the next 15 minutes or so) is to sort of go through my resolutions for this year. As follows, here are my resolutions.

1) Eat healthier. Ever since spending time abroad, I seem to have trouble with this. In Germany, I ate lots of food high in fat (ie, butter). Even though I ate a lot less meat than usual (ie, no beef, very little chicken--only once in a while did I eat chicken), and ever since coming home, I've had erratic eating habits. (That is a combination of eating everything I missed eating while abroad and being at school all the time and not eating properly.) I vow to eat more vegetables. I vow to not eat too much junky food.

2) Do not spend too much money on frivolities. Goodness knows I don't need all this stuff. Plus, I need to save my money for textbooks, conventions, and perhaps a glass-blowing course (someday--it costs $350). And I need more money to feed my yarn habit.

3) Learn to juggle. I need to do something unusual and something different. I don't do well when I become bland and don't do anything interesting. I need to have something gloat-worthy, no matter how arcane.

4) Clean my room more often. I can't see my desk. And I lose books and socks in my room.

5) Learn to knit socks and sweaters. Scarves are getting boring. Plus, I want to make things that look different than the stuff I see at the mall.

6) Be more patient with certain people in my life. I'm doing better with this, but I can be better. I need to make sure I am more understanding of certain persons and their personalities.

7) Study harder. I know I studied a lot this past semester, but I feel like I can do better.

8) Try not to obsess over grades. What I learn is what I learn.

9) Learn to play the guitar. I have one sitting in my room, and all I can play is a G-chord.

10) Learn to sew. I need a new hobby, and it'd be nice to learn how to fashion my own clothes and hem up my own pants, without the latter taking three hours to do one leg.

11) Write up my research articles as journal articles. I want to do these before I finish my degree. It will make me proud.

12) Read some books in German, for fun. I want to keep my German as fresh as possible.

13) Work on my scrapbook--that is, finish my college scrapbook (almost done) and start on my Germany scrapbook.

13) Find time to read fun books, which are not limited to books at a 4th grade level (which is what I was doing this semester). Such books would include, for instance, those written by Barbara Michaels, Elizabeth Peters, Tamar Myers,m and Carole Nelson-Douglas.

14) Make more than a few gourmet meals. Fancy ones.

15) Be better at keeping in touch with old friends. Call people more often. Write more letters and emails.

16) If time (and money) permits, take a German, Italian, or other foreign language course at the university (this is also contingent upon my summer break and how many credits I am actually allowed to have.)

17) Try to keep these resolutions. I did keep mine for last year, after all. My resolutions for 2002 included:

a) Making one German friend by the time I left. (I made three German friends.)

b) Visit Munich museums (I saw quite a few museums in the last few months of being in Munich)

c) Travel to Liechtenstein, thereby fulfilling a long time dream (Been there, done that).

So I was successful last year with my resolutions. Let's see how I do keeping track of 16 resolutions. Wish me luck.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!