Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:13 p.m. - January 13, 2003
Trodelmarkt der Traume
Today...school started again.

I woke up at 6 AM--of course, I had a hard time getting up in the morning, since I'm so used to waking up at 10 AM nowadays. My brother was in the bathroom, so I decided to go back to bed for another 15 minutes.

I barely made it to school on time. I have classes on Monday, Wednesday, and Thursday at 8:30--the official schedule says "8:50", which I would have liked better, but because my professor said that it's more effective to teach in segments of 1 1/2 hours rather than 50 minute segments, he'd change our classes to three days a week, but each session would be longer.

Therefore, I have to show up earlier.

In the spring, it wouldn't be a problem, because the sun is up at 6 AM, so I'd be up and almost ready to shine.

In winter, on the other hand, I just want to hibernate at 6 AM. And sometimes, you have to chisel the ice off your car before you can drive down the driveway. And if it snows or is icy, you have to drive like five miles an hour and pray that you make it to the parking garage alive--and on time.

I've never been good about mornings.

Anyway, I awoke and thought to myself, "Break can't be over already...I'm not done reading my books yet!" Even though I already had that doomsday feeling last night when I went to bed--or at least tried to--I guess some little part of me was hoping for a reprieve from a little thing called formal education.

I got my client's name and was reading her file--I'll be giving some aural rehabilitation therapy once a week with this girl, and after about 20 minutes of reading her case history, old lesson plans, recommendations, and test scores, I realized she has the same birthday as me! Sure, I'm fifteen years older than she is, but wow, I've finally found someone who shares my birthday!

That has been one of my goals in life: having parents who share the same birthday, a sibling and a cousin who have the same birthday, several relatives, and so on, I was starting to feel a bit like a leper.

It didn't matter that Lou Gehrig, Paula Abdul, or Garfield the cat are all born on June 19th. No, siree. It had to be someone I knew.

Once, I sent some dollar bills to a girl in Australia--this was during my pen-pal/friendship book phase--and she would look for people who had your birthday. She found some, but they never wrote back to me.

Such a tragedy.

But now I have someone who shares my birthday. This is just beyond cool. Is anyone else a June 19 baby?

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!