Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:44 p.m. - January 28, 2003
-
Here I am now, drinking a cup of hot chocolate, and the voice in the back of my head is whispering, "Stacey, you shouldn't be drinking that stuff! You already had two cookies today! Stop!"

But this time, I'm ignoring it.

Although the guilt is still there.

Today, for my counseling class, we were talking about families, in addition to our own communication styles. So I was feeling better about myself today (especially since yesterday just went horribly, with the exception of buying new sweaters...which reminds me--I did my laundry and forgot to put in one of the sweaters in the washing machine. Now I have to wait till I do another load of laundry...)

Anyway. Families. Now, we have an assignment, which just sounds really fun. I'm going to have a tough time doing it though! This is what we have to do: we need to find a movie, TV show, play, book, etc. and then look at the familial relationships between 3 characters! This is going to be so much fun. Actually it is already fun. Here are some ideas, some of which were rejected.

1) Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. Actually, this is still in the running. I'm sort of curious to do this one because I wonder about how Charlie and Grandpa Joe have been able to talk without Grandma Josephine, Grandpa George, and I think it's Grandma Georgina? knowing about their conversations or not even feeling left out! This would be interesting to do.

2) The Hardy Boys. Pondered upon, but since their father lets them get away with anything, that would be boring.

3)Mother (with Albert Brooks and Debbie Reynolds). Albert Brooks is cool. That is all.

4) Harry Potter and The Goblet of Fire OR Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone. Either one will do. Thinking of the Triad of Dudley, Vernon, and Harry. Or some of the Weasleys (Percy, Ron, and Mrs. Weasley).

5) Tanguy. Easy to do, what with the mother, father, and the very grown up son.

6) Mulan.

7) I contemplated Bambi for a while. But then I remembered: Bambi's mom was killed, so I guess it really doesn't count as a relationship, does it?

8) For Better or For Worse. What can I say? It's my favorite comic strip, and there's a lot of potential for craziness here.

9) 8 Femmes. Lots of relationships here. Negatives: Not out here. Not to mention that the conflicts can make you seriously dizzy.

10) A Christmas Carol. Mrs. and Mr. Cratchitt and Tiny Tim.

11) While You Were Sleeping. (Huge family that you will love, even though you'd be so exasperated with them.

12) Star Wars. I thought Luke, Leia, and Darth Vader would be an interesting combination, but I am not sure how I'd be able to discuss the communication styles between the three characters, beyond..."Luke...I am your father..." "NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!"

I think I'm going to stop now. I'm boring myself. But I think I nearly did get in a car accident because I was trying to think of other movies and stories I could use for this. Since I don't really watch TV, I am excluding that. Now, if there was a Star Trek: Voyager episode with a family, that would just be a lot of fun. Actually, there is one, but I don't think I have a copy of it. Hmm. It would have been a great one.

Speaking of which: I discovered a few weeks ago that one of my favorite websites is No More.

So let us bow our heads in remembrance of Delta Blues, which used to be housed at www.treknews.com/deltablues. Alas. You shall be sorely missed, Jim Wright. Your words were not inspirational, but rather, hysteric-inducing. Now I have only the memories of reading lines that had me crying with laughter. Alas, I cannot recall many of the passages I love, though I do have some written down for my own recollection.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!