Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:49 p.m. - February 08, 2003
Anyone want to buy a bear?
Ooh. story for you. My dad had an exciting day yesterday. Ok, here's what happened

This lady came in, and went straight for the Nature's Sketchbook section and Dad saw her pick up 4 different things, he was watching the mirror in the corner). Anyway. She brought up these things to the counter, and Dad is getting excited because it is about 60 dollars worth of stuff.

"Is the old woman here today?" asked the woman.

"No, she's not here today," replied my dad.

"Well...do you see my eyes? I've been crying all day. My Mom just died"

"I'm very sorry to hear that."

"That's why I was returning these."

"You can't return them. I saw you picking those up when you came in."

"Oh. Well, I have to go."

She left quickly, and my dad decided to follow her and see if he could write down her license plate. He didn't see her in the parking lot, so he walked down the plaza to see if she went into another store. He saw her in the Used CD store (which I should probably take a look at now sometime), and he went in.

She saw him, and then told the person behind the counter, "I'll be right back" and walked out of the CD Exchange really fast, and Dad wrote down her license plate.

Apparently, this woman was also trying to con the record people out of 50 dollars worth of CDs, only this time she told them her daughter died.

And the manager had approved her "return!"

Anyway, Dad called the police and it turned out the woman is from another area in Ohio, I doubt anything can be done, but my dad is very proud of himself for foiling a con.

Also--anyone want to buy 3 cards and get a lovely teddy bear for 5.95 instead of 14.95? Here's the story. Originally, my mom bought 4 boxes of bears for the hallmark promo, and then Hallmark called her and asked if she would like to have some more bears for free--basically, if we sell them, we make a profit. If we don't, we can return them to Hallmark at no cost.

So Mom said yeah, we'll take some more, not thinking clearly about it--just about the profit margin. Anyway she asked for 96 more bears. Right now, we have 14 boxes of bears in the back room. Basically, Hallmark is doing a research study, and well, we're in it. and it's been hard to get people to buy the bear--but I decided to take the initiative and promote the bear today, so everytime someone came in, I told them about the promo, and I managed to sell a lot of bears. So now mom told me, "You're not allowed to go to school anymore! You have to come work everyday!" I am so proud of myself for selling a bunch of bears--One lady bought 6, one lady bought 2, and a few others bought like 1, 2, 3 bears, etc. I am so proud of myself. I think I may have sold like 15 bears, which is pretty good, since a lot of people are not biting. We're trying to sell all of the boxes we ordered and then at least one of the "free" boxes. I told Mom I'll work on valentine's day--maybe I shoudl also see if I can work Thursday night too, from 6-9. Hmm.

By the way, I'm looking for good kids books--one of my clients is 4 years old and has difficulties retelling stories. I found a few good ones at the library, but does anyone else have any suggestions? Any books with winter themes would be an added bonus, too. I also thought that "Wait! No Paint!" would be an excellent book to read, and then have the girl make up a story--this story is so hysterical to me.

And I have a new goal: I think I'm going to buy one or two CDs a month by independent artists. I ordered a couple a few days ago, Kristin Plater and Ellen Rosner. I think next month I will order something by Vienna Teng (check out CD Baby" for good independent music.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!