Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:53 p.m. - February 25, 2003
Sally-ness

I am Sally

Which Peanuts Character Are You Quiz

Sorry I was gone for a while. It's been weird and busy and just plain confusing lately. Just been doing a lot of things, not to mention thinking.

That is all I really feel like saying at this point, although I am amused by the Sally thing--thought I'd have been Linus or someone, but I guess in a way, it's sort of true. I'm mostly optimistic, but I suppose I can be annoying sometimes.

By the way, I went to Columbus over the weekend for a convention, and since I'm lazy, I'm just going to copy over part of an email I wrote to my friends, because it was written when I was in a very good mood and it's pretty detailed.

1) Saw Norm this Friday. He's still as adorable as ever. ;)

2) Whoa, what a nice hotel. We stayed in Easton, and the hotel was smack dab right in front of a B&N...annnnndd....right in front of this HUGE shopping complex, which included (a) The Cheesecake Factory (of course, by the time we finished dinner, no one had room for cheesecake), and (b) CALIFORNIA PIZZA KITCHEN!!! oh my goodness, it was such a long time since I had CPK--I was 15 the last time I ate those pizzas...mm....I had tandoori chicken pizza, which was good, but the next time I ever go to CPK, it's not going to be tandoori--I'll try something else.

3) I met Brad, who is an audiologist and it's sort of a loing story, but to make it really short--well, about 5-6 years ago, there were a bunch of flame wars about methodologies--like signing, av, oral, cued speech, etc, and he and my mom were involved in them. Anyway. all of a sudden--actually within the past couple days, he was chatting with me online and telling me about all this stuff he wanted to give me. Well, he gave these to me: (a) a disk with his lectures from his courses in anatomy and phys./intro to aud. (b) a copy of his articles and presentations and other thigns (like the family newsletter) (c) a copy of his band's CD (d) a book by Carl Hiassen, which he finished on the way to OH ("Tourist Season") (e) some sheet music and...this one had me floored...he made an earmold impression of my ear, and then he asked me to check out his otoscope (that is the thing the doctor would use to look in your ear)...and asked me what I thought, so I said his ear looked good. Then he went, "You like it? It's yours." I was all like, "whoa, are you sure about that?" and he was like, "yeah, you keep it." I am torn between feeeling really grateful and really disturbed by it, because I also feel like he gave me a bunch of stuff.

4) My former professor mentioned me in his presentation.

5) Ty Pennington was staying at our hotel. I, unfortunately, did not get the thrill of seeing TY from TRADING SPACES in our hotel. Two of my roommates, however, saw him checking in, and they say he's hotter in person. Anna and I tried to find him ("maybe he's in the exercise room? The game room? The restaurant? The bar?") which we didn't, but we sure had fun trying. we went back to the room, and guess what? Trading Spaces was on...but...no Ty on that episde. Sigh. It would have been nice to see Ty in the hotel. Even if it was on TV.

6) An audiologist from Harvard gave a complicated lecture about one of the new hot theories in audiology (cochlear dead regions)--if anyone wants to know what it is, I'll give a condensed version. Anyway, he decided to call on people in the audience to answer his (really hard) questions. I had the honor of being the first person he called on (yipes) and he kept calling on students in our program msot of the time--I think all of us were in there--all 11 of us. Anyway, one of the grad students overheard him talking to my professor after the session, and apparently, the speaker was impressed that the students were able to answer his questions--I had the easiest one, by the way--and he said something like, if any of the us wanted to work at Harvard for their clinical fellowship year--sort of like a residency--he'd love to have one. Whew. One more thing to keep in mind, huh?

*Addenum: Ty will be in the area for the local Home and Garden Show this weekend.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!