Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:29 p.m. - February 28, 2003
Friday five again
It's Friday Five time again! One that I actually like...

1. What is your favorite type of literature to read (magazine, newspaper, novels, nonfiction, poetry, etc.)?
I enjoy reading novels--particularly those written by women mystery writers.

2. What is your favorite novel?
My favorite novel continues to be The Secret Garden. Although I am past the recommended reading age, it remains my comfort book, and I find that as I grow older, my perceptions of the characters change.

3. Do you have a favorite poem? (Share it!)
I somehow feel that I can't properly answer this question; there are just so many that come to mind. I love Robert Frost's "Directive", "The Road Not Taken", "Stopping By Woods on a Snowy Evening", Li Young-Lee's "Persimmons", Janice Mirikitani's "Recipe for Round Eyes", "American Geisha", "Breaking Tradition", e.e. cummings "a leaf falls", and a lot of e.e. cummings poems, which have no titles, anyway, Edgar Allen Poe's "The Raven" and "The Bells", and let's not forget "The Lady of Shallot" by Tennyson...

4. What is one thing you've always wanted to read, or wish you had more time to read?
Just take a look at my bookshelf, or scout the Border's Books and Music in your area.

5. What are you currently reading?
Tourist Season by Carl Hiaasen. I also need to read my textbook for class....

Speaking of class, my professor is encouraging me to pursue a PhD. Whew. Of course, I have to think about it. Basically, he told me that people like him are getting old and are retiring, and that I'm young, smart, and think in a very analytical way....and ergo, he thought I'd be a good "commodity to the field."

This made me feel a lot better, but yeah, does that help with alleviating pressure?

I didn't think so.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!