Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:28 a.m. - March 24, 2003
Little guy named Oscar
I watched the Oscars. Here are some of my personal thoughts and observations, likes/dislikes.

Best Oscar moments

1) Adrian Brody. Not only is he cute (also see: Tori Amos, "Some sort of fairytale"), but his speech was great...and I loved how he firmly stood his ground to make his statement.

2) The look on Barbara Streistand's face when she opened the envelope for best song...

3) Peter O'Toole. Need I say more? I love the guy. Sure, he's old, but he's great.

4) Catherine Zeta-Jones' speech

5) And Nicole Kidman's

6) The guy who introduced "Frida" : ("If Frida was still alive, she'd be on our side against the war.") I couldn't believe he said that, but...Whoo-hoo!

7) Michael Moore and his speech about the "fictional election" and the "fictional president" we have, as well as the war we're having for "fictional reasons". Plus that whole thing about documentary artists dealing with non-fiction in a fictional world. And all those documentary artists on stage with him "in soliditary". Whoa., what a statement. I was shocked and cheered by that. Finally, someone who wasn't afraid to make a statement in front of millions. Yeeessssssss! Makes me wonder what they would have said if, say, the Spelling Bee person won. Even though he got booed big time, I give him props for having the guts to speak his mind, and I only wish more people would follow suit. But sadly politics rule our lives.

8) The crack that Steve Martin made, which went something like, "This year, cleavage is in. So without further ado, the president of the the Academy, Frank Pierson." and Pierson walkign out with this weird look toward Martin, getting to the podium and saying, "That's the last time I share a dressing room with him." (Martin's crack was certainly one of the weirdest I ever heard.)

9) Steve Martin's comment about Nicole Kidman, somehting that went like, "Nicole Kidman has worn a fake nose in every movie except for "The Hours".

10) Kirk and Michal Douglas presenting the awardfor best movie. -- Kirk, "blah blah blah, this is for posterity. "Speak clearly." & "This is my son. He has two awards. But I'm still young!"

11) Beyonce Knowles+pepsi =cute commericial

12) ditto for Shakira, even though I don't like her that much. Had too much of her in Germany.

13) Some cute mastercard commericals

weird/scary/bad

1) really long commerical breaks

2) What was Sean Connery wearing? Somehow his clothes ended up looking really bizarre.

3) The AOL Broadband commerical with the woman in lingerie, "oooh...oohhh...that was the best experience of my life....can you stay or do you have to run?"..."Icons..." Umm. Scary. Just as scary as "Fair Haven" / Captain Janeway+hologram sex.

Other Impressions:

1) I need to watch The Pianist, even if only to drool over Adrian Brody.

2) Need to watch "The Hours" and "Chicago" and "Far from Heaven"

3) Love how female oriented material/female ruled material dominated (Chicago, the Hours, Far from Heaven, Frida, etc.)

4) Glad that "Spirited Away" won the Academy. Even though I haven't seen it, if "Ice Age" or "Lilo & Stitch" won (even though I like both of those), I think "Spirited Away" is probably the most imaginative of all the animated features.

5) Interesting that Best Director went to one guy (Roman Polanski) and best pic went to "Chicago". So I was thrown off at the end.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!