Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:46 p.m. - April 14, 2003
Buddin' writer
I really should be studying: reading or working on my assignment for a class. Well, looks like I am not doing either. Instead I am just going to go and type.

I got an assignment from my knitting teacher. She gave us a pattern for a mini-sweater, probably only going to be about a few inches big, but this makes me really happy because I want to learn how to knit a sweater. I can only have so many scarves in my collection.

I've been busy. Way too busy. This weekend, I not only bought two pairs of cute Hello Kitty socks and two pairs of Mary Janes (now that makes, what, 4 pairs that I own?) but I also worked all day on Saturday (10 hours) and all day Sunday (5 hours). So I will expect a nice paycheck this week, which makes me happy, especially since I seemed to be sinking into the quicksand of debt a few weeks ago and just cleared my balance several weeks ago. So I'm being frugal now.

Anyhow, work...I ended up with a backache and pain from bending over a lot--I was in charge of crafts (the store had a tea party). Didn't help that one of the employees is incredibly lazy so I ended up supervising TWO tables at the same time. Which of course made it very difficult to watch kids and make sure I was spending time with them. I was furious.

Anyway. But the weekend was busy, so that was nice. Tiring, though. All last week was busy, and as I told my former roommate last night, I can't believe I am going to be doing all this work the rest of my life. What am I thinking? ;) But I say this in a really optimstic tone, simply because I am in a really good mood right now and I don't feel too bad about things. I'm ... buoyant.

Poor, of course, but happy. How's that go?

I'm broke but I'm happy
I'm poor but I'm kind
I'm short but I'm healthy, yeah
I'm high but I'm grounded
I'm sane but I'm overwhelmed
I'm lost but I'm hopeful baby
What it all comes down to
Is that everything's gonna be fine fine fine
I've got one hand in my pocket
And the other one is giving a high five
I feel drunk but I'm sober
I'm young and I'm underpaid
I'm tired but I'm working, yeah
I care but I'm restless
I'm here but I'm really gone
I'm wrong and I'm sorry baby

What it all comes down to
Is that everything's gonna be quite alright
I've got one hand in my pocket
And the other one is flicking a cigarette
What it all comes down to
Is that I haven't got it all
figured out just yet
I've got one hand in my pocket
And the other one is giving the peace sign
I'm free but I'm focused
I'm green but I'm wise
I'm hard but I'm friendly baby
I'm sad but I'm laughing
I'm brave but I'm chicken shit
I'm sick but I'm pretty baby
What it all boils down to
Is that no one's really got it figured out just yet
I've got one hand in my pocket
And the other one is playing the piano
What it all comes down to my friends
Is that everything's just fine fine fine
I've got one hand in my pocket
And the other one is hailing a taxi cab...

I think this weekend I will try doing more creative writing to put up here. i have a poem I worked on about a year ago, I've been wondering if I should post here. It was born out of a trip to Italy and listening to opera music. It's one of my favorites, and part of the reason I have not put it up is because I feel nervous about it, and the other is because the very ending is bugging me and I have no idea how to improve upon it. Plus, along with the nervousness, it seems almost personal even though I've never had the experience that I put into words. And I don't think of myself as much of a poet, anyway--more so of an essayist or a narrative writer, though I have dabbled in some dialogue (which I think I do really well)--I have some I think is great. I wrote an adaptation of Cinderella which takes place in the present day--only it's a modernized version without the fairy godmother, but certainly with the influences from the story. Shoe, poor girl, the "prince" and the dancing. I need to work on it though. I wrote that about three or four years ago, and I need to revise it because I like the premise. And then I've got some "lyrics" I wrote, and I'd write music to accompany the words if I knew how! Anyone know how to write folky pop or bluesy rock? Anyone want to give it a stab?

And well, I've got all sorts of little things floating around, poems to revise, story scraps, essays, and so on. And i never finish it all. Now i feel like sitting down and writing something or revising, even though I have no time at the moment to do so. That's just depressing, isn't it?

i think I'll work on the website homework assignment tomorrow afternoon before school, as well as my reading. Maybe I will try and revise something tonight. Maybe look at that poem I was talking about. Or something. Maybe the skit (I want to lengthen it and sharpen the dialogue). i want to turn some of my encounters with people into short dialogues or monologues. i think I'm good at the whole dialogue thing.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!