Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:25 p.m. - May 12, 2003
Movies
I feel like making brownies.

Of course, I shouldn't, since I am trying to lose some weight. But my gosh, brownies. Thick, fudgy brownies (my mom likes then fluffy and cake-y. I have one word to say. yuck.)

Luckily, though, we have no cake flour. If we had some, I'd be baking away right now, and probably would be eating the entire thing myself.

Yesterday, being Mother's Day, I worked a bit. Lots of people shopping for last minute Mother's Day gifts. Business is good when it generates cash and income, even though I was tired and wanted to be at home doing things like being alone?

And I got my mom a fondue pot, which is lovely. I love fondue. Mmm.

Anyway, last night my brother and I were trying to figure out what movies he and I actually like. (meaning: what movies we BOTH like.) He sniffed, "Disney movies doen't count. Pixar doesn't either." He's the sort of fellow who likes Adam Sandler, gross-out comedies, and I'm the sort of person who likes smart comedies with smart, witty dialogue that just goes, zing! Here are some examples of what my brother likes:

Happy Gilmore
Rush Hour
The Matrix
Shanghai Noon

These are what I like:

Best in Show
Gosford Park
Dogma
Little Man Tate

What we both actually like:

Indiana Jones (But I hate the one with the heart. yecch.)
Ocean's Eleven>I added Babe to the list, but he sniffed at me and said, "That doesn't count!"

So, he kept talking about this movie, called Rat Race, which he said was the funniest movie of all time. "It's got like, everyone in it. John Cleese, Seth Green, Cuba Gooding, Jr., Whoopi Goldberg, and I think Danny DeVito?" (it was Jon Lovitz).

Dad and I watched it with him last night. It was one of the worst movies I've ever seen. It was about dumb people doing stupid things. The ending was stupid. It wasn't even a good ending, as it was like, trying to redeem the characters. And I didn't care about the characters, and I simply do not like Jon Lovitz or Rowan Atkinson. Ugh, ugh, ugh. Waste of my time. (This makes me wonder if he likes the movie, Jackass, which I will not see because that is an insult to my intellect.

But I did borrow Best in Show, which is hysterical and is far better than A Mighty Wind

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!