Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:08 a.m. - May 14, 2003
insignificance of kitchen things
Jeeeeez. I clicked the wrong button and lost a whole lot of stuff that I had already written. Grr.

Anyway, I will try, to the best of my ability, to reconstruct what I was writing about.

First of all, I got my grades for my classes. I got a "B" in the class that whupped my ass right into next semester, which meant that I somehow got a "B" on the final. Miracle of miracles! And as expected, I got an "A" in my Rehab class, which is good. I really thought the exam was not hard, but it sure was long.

Secondly, a friend of mine--from Czech Republic, sent me an email. We met last year in Germany, as she was in my language course. She's a sweetie, speaks English and German fluently. And she is just wonderful. She's going to an international conference about special needs kids, and she asked me if I'd be willing to co-author something with her for a Czech publication and so she could give a presentation at this conference! Well, yeah! I'll do it! I may not be able to read the results, but I'll do it! I hope I can get published in Czech. That would just be too funny. Put it on my resume. Potential employers can then ask me, "Well, what is this?" and I can honestly say, "Well, I'm not sure. I can't read Czech. I mean, I can say 'Dvorak' and 'Praha' and 'Hladvy', but that's the extent of it all."

Third, I discovered that someone linked to a page on this diary, something I wrote about my observations about friendships in Germany and US (note to self: email friends in Germany). This is fine, but what's even more bizarre is this: this website is--and I quote: A site for people who lack friendships or who have difficulty forming them.

I was startled, to say the least. But it's okay, I suppose.

It's also 1:18 AM. I should be in bed.

And my mom is teaching me the afghan stitch (crochet).

I think I need to go to bed now. I'll do things tomorrow morning and afternoon, like buying a wedding gift for an acquaintance of mine. Someone I do not like much, anyway, so I won't be spending a ton on gifts for her. Ugh. Weddings are fine, but if it's for someone I don't like much...but I'm going because she's my classmate and I feel like I have to.

I also found out that one of my former teachers is being sued for assault. To me, this is totally surreal because she's really one of the nicest people I know, and one of the people who was most passionate about teaching. And after over 20 years of teaching, someone would try to sue her for assualt, and the newspaper article was very misleading and made it sound like she is a nasty person...so I am going to write a letter to the paper, and I know one of my former classmates also wrote a letter supporting her...and it was a good one. But I think she needs more support. So if you went to high school and middle school with me, and you want to support her or know what was going on, drop me an email or sign the book.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!