Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:17 a.m. - May 16, 2003
Musik der Nacht
Well. Today I had speech therapy. My professors suggested that I undergo this process again, because some of my articulation could be cleared up a bit more. Like some of those sounds I've never actually been able to say. What the heck. I'll try it, but I might not like it. Anyway, my therapist for the summer said that I also have some nasality, so guess what? I have to work on my airflow.

In short, I have to start singing. Good gad, I cannot carry a tune. But she told me to bring a slow song next week. Something I like. So I've been listening to CDs in the car, and so far, this is what I have in mind:

"Mexican Wrestler" by Jill Sobule

"Sandalwood" by Lisa Loeb (I am not sure about this one. Somehow, singing "I want to kiss the back of your neck/the top of your spine where your hair hits/and gnaw on your fingertips and fall asleep/I'll talk you to sleep" doesn't appeal to me if I have to sing it to a speech therapist. Plus, that song has this weird special meaning for me.)

"Drops Me Down" by Lisa Loeb (Love this song, but maybe I'll get depressed singing it. It is awfully sad and makes me cry).

"Somewhere in New Mexico" by Jill Sobule

"Evil Night Together" by Jill Tracy

"Falling in Love" by Lisa Loeb

"Free-Fallin'" by Tom Petty

"Yesterday" by The Beatles

"The Fine art of Poisoning" by Jill Tracy

"The Proof" by Jill Tracy

I guess I have a few more days to listen to music...

Speaking of which...

Tonight was the high school choir/Madrigal/notable concert. It was 50's 60's themed, which is fine...but honestly, they sucked majorly. I have never seen a worse choir performance, not even from the top singers in the school (Madrigals and Notables). Heck, even the people who were singers in the musical a few weeks ago were rotten. Not even hitting the right notes, voices cracking, people throwing each other off, expressionless voices (this from the mixed chorus). The Madrigals were horrible.

Give them a song like "Greensleeves" or "The Merry Madrigals", but give them a popular tune like "In the Still of the Night", and they sound terrible. They should stick to old songs from olden times. And well, I think there may have just been one good song out of the whole thing. "My Guy" which was actually really sassily sung by a group of girls. I was disappointed with one of the guys, who really is an amazing singer...and he couldn't carry the song. I think it was pitched too low, and wasn't right for his vocal range, so his voice cracked.

And they sung "The Lion Sleeps Tonight." Why is it that every time I go to a choir performance, they sing that song? I hate it. It's right up there in the useless, meaningless song category with "Kumbayah."

I mean..."wim o weh, wim o weh, wim o weh...the lion sleeps tonight..."

Well, who bloody cares if the lion is sleeping tonight?

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!