Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:47 p.m. - May 26, 2003
Poorhouse
I'm back (again)! Well, I seem to be in a bit of a conundrum, otherwise known as "how to pay of a credit card bill" game. Yeah. Here's the thing: I seem to have spent an awful lot of money in the past month, mostly on gas, food, and plane tickets to Baltimore! And I had to pay for the remainder of my summer tuition! And of course, I've also been feeding that hungry yarn habit of mine.

Of course, I think my hunger for yarn has been sufficiently quenched now. For the time being, anyway.

But really, how I am I going to pay for all this? So far, if I have a certain amount of money in the bank, and I can expect my paycheck this Wednesday, as well as having found 100 Euros in my closet (so I can now convert to dollars), and my dad found a paycheck of mine in his office, so that helps somewhat. But augh, I am poor. I officially cannot spend money for a long while.

I have to join a fitness center, but I have no money! But my mom said she'd pay for my one-month membership, so I guess that's okay. I'll just have to hold her to that promise (as well as her promise to pay for any grocery charges on my credit card bill. Do you think I can make 250 dollars in two weeks, and lose some weight in that time, too?

I will find out after this week. I am working extra hours tomorrow, like 3-4 extra hours. Which basically means I'll be dead on my feet (Note to self: wear comfortable clothes). But I will have extra money, money...Golly, I need money.

My brother was on The Today Show or Good Morning America. One of those. The cameraman panned the audience and zoomed in on him, waving his bright day-glo orange posterboard, advertising his own website.

Of course, no one visited him! I also did not see him because I was asleep. But the mother of my brother's friend has a tape of it, and she said she'll loan it to us. Yay!

Back to the financial woes. In addition to paying off my credit card bill, I also have to pay someone else back for my plane ticket to Denver, as well as pay someone (probably in July) for the hotel room we will be staying at in Baltimore. In case I've got you thoroughly confused, I am going to Denver for a week-long workshop. The rooms are paid for, and the only expenses I have are travel related. So that's probably 400 dollars. But in the long run, that's really good because food is included in the workshop.

Now, the other trip, the one to Baltimore, is a convention that is going to be expensive. It's 150 for convention fee, then the hotel is 150 per night. But luckily, my plane ticket was 113 roundtrip. Then of course, I have to buy food. And since we're going to Baltimore, we're going to try and find H&M, since we love that store, and then do some sightseeing. So all in all...a really expensive trip. I just can't spend a whole lot of money now.

And I think my yarn habit is somewhat sated now, since I've gotten a lot of sock yarns (thinking for some weird reason that the label said one skein of yarn makes one sock--which is totally wrong. It actually says, 'One skein makes one pair of socks.' Right now I have 12 skeins of sock yarn. Basically, a lot of socks ready to be made. What was I thinking--that I knew how to read?) If you're wondering, I am making a pair of socks now out of multi-colored yarn. Actually, I've started this project over and over again, because the first time, I put them on the wrong size needles. I had knitted about 2 inches before I realized that my socks would probably fit the Elephant Man, and not me. Then I switched to another set of needles--the correct size--and then proceeded to cast on the wrong amount of stiches. So I had to frog (to rip out) the stiches and start again. Then I cast on the wrong amount again. Started again. Goofed up in the third row. Frogged the project again and finally got going. But it was hard at first, because it alternated stitches all the time and I kept losing my place in the pattern.

But now, I've got about 4 inches of sock leg, and it looks really nice so far. It's a neat basketweave pattern (there was no accompanying picture to the pattern) and it looks sort of wavy. I'll scan it, maybe tomorrow, so you can see what it is supposed to look like.

Well, I have to print out something for work, but that's all for tonight.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!