Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:21 a.m. - May 30, 2003
awards
Well, tonight was my brother's award ceremony which lasted a total of THREE hours. Three hours. And I was sitting near a smoker who reeked and made my nose stuffy (I am, after all, allergic to cigarette smoke).

The school had called our home to tell us my brother would be awarded a scholarship, but...he didn't get one. He got some award. And it was presented at the very end of the ceremony, so it was like three hours of waiting to hear my brother's name.

And the people behind me were talking and laughing. Clapping even after the principal requested that people hold applause till the end, because of the number of students being awarded. Grr. Some people need to learn manners.

And some lady asked me what my dad's name was, so I told her. This was a white woman, accompanied by her white husband, and an asian man near her (not my dad, though). Anyway this other asian man looked like geek with a capital G, and she said to me, "Oh, okay. That's not him, then." Then she looks at the other asian man and said something to him, and then she said to me, "Well, he [my dad] looks like him [asian man]"

Good gad.

I was really irritated. For one, I was listening to a conversation my mom and dad were having with another parent--I think one of my brother's old day care buddies. And the lady kept harping about how much my dad looks like that asian man near her.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!